Oscar noms omitted some worthy names

'Town' and 'Superman' among no-shows

Where were “The Town,” “Waiting for Superman,” Julianne Moore, the directing noms for Christopher Nolan and Lisa Cholodenko and the song bid for Diane Warren? Some of the biggest surprises in Tuesday’s announcements were in the omissions.

It was a strong animated race, with only three slots for toon feature, meaning Disney’s “Tangled,” DreamWorks Animation’s “Shrek Forever After” and Universal’s “Despicable Me” were relegated to also-ran status.

The Acad’s music branch left out some big-name songwriters. Aside from Warren, who won a Golden Globe this month for her “Burlesque” tune, the song shutouts include Avril Lavigne (the tune from “Alice in Wonderland”); Carrie Underwood (“The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader”); Eddie Vedder (“Eat Pray Love”); Justin Bieber (“The Karate Kid”) Alanis Morissette (“Prince of Persia”); and Janet Jackson (“Tyler Perry’s Why Did I Get Married Too”).

Other directors left off the list: Danny Boyle (“127 Hours”), Ben Affleck (“The Town”), Clint Eastwood (“Hereafter”), Martin Scorsese (“Shutter Island”), Mike Leigh (“Another Year”) and Debra Granik (“Winter’s Bone”). The acting races similarly had too many options for the slots available. Among those worthy of attention but left nom-less: Leonardo DiCaprio for “Inception” and “Shutter Island”; Robert Duvall, “Get Low”; Ryan Gosling, “Blue Valentine”; Mark Wahlberg, “The Fighter”; Sean Penn, “Fair Game”; and Jim Carrey, “I Love You Phillip Morris.”

Actresses: Halle Berry, “Frankie and Alice”; Moore, “The Kids Are All Right”; Diane Lane, “Secretariat”; Lesley Manville, “Another Year”; Noomi Rapace, “The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo”; Gwyneth Paltrow, “Country Strong”; Hilary Swank, “Conviction.”

In supporting races: Matt Damon (“True Grit”), Michael Douglas (“Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps”); Bill Murray (“Get Low”); Andrew Garfield (“Social Network”), Dustin Hoffman (“Barney’s Version”), Sam Rockwell (“Conviction”); Vincent Cassel, Barbara Hershey and Mila Kunis (“Black Swan”); and Dianne Wiest (“Rabbit Hole”).

A quartet of WGA contenders missed out: Mark Heyman, Andres Heinz, John McLaughlin, “Black Swan,” and Nicole Holofcener, “Please Give,” in the original category; plus John Requa and Glenn Ficarra, “I Love You Phillip Morris,” and Peter Craig, Affleck and Aaron Stockard, “The Town,” in the adapted race.

Even with last year’s expansion of the best pic race, 10 slots were not enough for the strong work in 2010. Among films that had held hopes for attention but that never seemed to gain much traction with awards voters: Peter Weir’s “The Way Back,” Marshall Herskovitz’s “Love and Other Drugs,” Anton Corbijn’s “The American,” John Curran’s “Stone,” “Secretariat,” “Made in Dagenham,” “Conviction,” “Fair Game,” “The Ghost Writer,” “Hereafter,” “Shutter Island,” “Somewhere” and “Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps.”

Then there was work that wasn’t expected to be nommed because they hadn’t made Oscar’s shortlists (French film “Of Gods and Men,” the makeup work in “Black Swan”) or had been deemed ineligible (Carter Burwell’s adaptations of hymns for “True Grit”).

And a notable missing name: Ryan Kavanaugh, who’s listed onscreen as one of the producers of “The Fighter” but was deemed ineligible as a producer by the Academy.