NY critics circle ‘The Artist’

Hazanavicius film wins for feature, helmer

The Artist” got an early award-season boost from the New York Film Critics Circle, which tapped the Weinstein Co.’s silent, black-and-white homage to cinema history for its top feature kudo and Michel Hazanavicius for best helmer. Major thesp awards went to Brad Pitt and Meryl Streep, the latter for her turn as Margaret Thatcher in TWC’s “The Iron Lady.”

The 33-member group had moved up its voting to Tuesday in order to be first in line among critics’ kudos, leapfrogging ahead of the National Board of Review, which hands out awards Thursday. The choices of critics’ groups typically do not win the best picture Oscar, and most major orgs, including New York, lined up with “The Social Network” last year.

Fox Searchlight’s “Tree of Life” was cited for multiple awards, with lead actor Pitt and supporting actress Jessica Chastain both cited for their work in the film. Pitt also got the nod for his role in “Moneyball,” while Chastain received the award for her work not only in “Tree” but in “The Help” and “Take Shelter.” “Tree of Life” also drew the cinematography kudo for Emmanuel Lubezki.

Columbia Pictures’ “Moneyball” also took home the screenplay nod for co-scripters Steven Zaillian and Aaron Sorkin.

J.C. Chandor’s “Margin Call,” released by Lionsgate, nabbed the first-feature kudo.

Albert Brooks won supporting actor for his role in FilmDistrict’s “Drive.”

Nonfiction film went to Sundance Selects’ 3D arthouse success “Cave of Forgotten Dreams,” helmed by Werner Herzog, and the laurel for foreign-language film was taken by Sony Pictures Classics’ Iranian drama “A Separation.”

NYFCC selected the late Raoul Ruiz, the Chilean filmmaker who died in August, to receive its annual special award.

The Artist

Michel Hazanavicius – “The Artist”

Steven Zaillian and Aaron Sorkin – “Moneyball”

Brad Pitt – “Moneyball” and “Tree of Life”

Meryl Streep – “The Iron Lady

Supporting Actor:
Albert Brooks – “Drive”

Supporting Actress:
Jessica Chastain – “Tree of Life,” “The Help” and “Take Shelter”

Foreign Language Film:
“A Separation”

Emmanuel Lubezki – “Tree of Life”

Nonfiction Film:
Cave of Forgotten Dreams” (dir: Werner Herzog)

First Feature:
“Margin Call”

Special Award to be given to filmmaker Raoul Ruiz

Popular on Variety

More Film

  • The Jesus Rolls

    Rome Film Review: 'The Jesus Rolls'

    The Jesus lives! The oddball bowling obsessive immortalized by John Turturro in “The Big Lebowski” resurfaces two decades later in “The Jesus Rolls,” a road movie every bit as eccentric as the character he played in the 1998 cult favorite. In a way, the “Lebowski” connection does a disservice to Turturro’s film — an in-spirit [...]

  • Abominable

    Malaysia Orders Cuts to 'Abominable' Over Controversial Map Scene

    Malaysia has ordered cuts to the U.S.-Chinese animated feature “Abominable,” which includes a scene involving a map that portrays China’s contested territorial claims in the South China Sea. The map scene has already caused the film to be banned in Vietnam. The Philippines foreign minister Teodoro Locsin this week called for “Abominable” to be boycotted, [...]

  • Kung Fu Panda 3

    Universal's Beijing Resort to Partner With Alibaba on Digitization

    Amid fierce controversy about the leverage China has over U.S. entertainment firms with significant mainland operations, Universal Beijing Resort and Alibaba announced a strategic partnership Thursday to digitize the forthcoming theme park in China’s capital. Facial recognition and the use of big data will be the norm at the new resort, which will use an [...]

  • They Shall Not Grow Old restoration

    Peter Jackson Documentary 'They Shall Not Grow Old' Nabs Limited China Release

    The Peter Jackson produced and directed World War I documentary “They Shall Not Grow Old” will hit Chinese theaters on November 11. Though it will roll out nationwide, it will do so via the China’s National Arthouse Alliance, which has limited screens. The 2018 documentary puts together interviews with WWI veterans and more than 100-year-old [...]

  • Zombieland Double Tap

    'Zombieland: Double Tap' Hopes to Recapture Raunchy Zombie Magic, 10 Years Later

    Audiences may have a few questions about the sequel to 2009’s hit “Zombieland,” which opens Friday. Why did it take 10 years to make a second one, after the first grossed $102.4 million worldwide on a $23 million budget, making it the third-biggest zombie movie of all time (second-biggest if you don’t count “Hotel Transylvania,” [...]

  • AMC TheatresShop signs, Los Angeles, America

    AMC Theatres Accused of Firing VP Who Complained of Gender Pay Gap

    A former vice president at AMC Theatres filed a federal lawsuit on Wednesday, accusing the company of firing her after she complained that she was paid far less than her male peers. Tonya Mangels, who was vice president of product marketing, said that in March 2018 her supervisor inadvertently sent her a spreadsheet that included [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content