Cannes lines up this year’s pics

The complete festival list

“Midnight in Paris” (Spain-U.S.), Woody Allen (opener)
“The Beloved,” (France), Christophe Honore (closer)

Popular on Variety

“The Artist” (France), Michel Hazanavicius
“Drive” (U.S.), Nicolas Winding Refn
“Footnote” (Israel), Joseph Cedar
“Hanezu no tsuki” (Japan), Naomi Kawase
“Hara-kiri: Death of a Samurai” (Japan), Takashi Miike
“The Kid With a Bike” (Belgium-France-Italy), Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne
“L’apollonide (Souvenirs de la maison close)” (France) Bertrand Bonello
“Le Havre” (Finland-France-Germany), Aki Kaurismaki
“Melancholia” (Denmark-Sweden-France-Germany-Italy), Lars von Trier
“Michael” (Austria), Markus Schleinzer
“Once Upon a Time in Anatolia” (Turkey), Nuri Bilge Ceylan
“Pater” (France), Alain Cavalier
“Polisse” (France), Maiwenn
“The Skin I Live In” (Spain), Pedro Almodovar
“Sleeping Beauty” (Australia), Julia Leigh
“La Source des femmes” (France-Belgium-Italy), Radu Mihaileanu
“This Must Be the Place” (Italy-France-Ireland), Paolo Sorrentino
“The Tree of Life” (U.S.), Terrence Malick
“We Have a Pope” (Italy-France), Nanni Moretti
“We Need to Talk About Kevin” (U.K.-U.S.), Lynne Ramsay

“Arirang” (South Korea), Kim Ki-duk
“Bonsai” (Chile), Cristian Jimenez
“The Day He Arrives” (South Korea), Hong Sang-soo
“Elena” (Russia), Andrei Zvyagintsev (closer)
“L’exercice de l’Etat” (France), Pierre Schoeller
“Halt auf freier Strecke” (Germany), Andreas Dresen
“Hors Satan” (France), Bruno Dumont
“The Hunter” (France-Russia), Bakur Bakuradze
“Loverboy” (Romania-France-Serbia-Sweden), Catalin Mitulescu
“Martha Marcy May Marlene” (U.S.), Sean Durkin
“Miss Bala” (Mexico), Gerardo Naranjo
“Les Neiges du Kilimandjaro” (France), Robert Guediguian
“Oslo, August 31st” (Norway), Joachim Trier
“Restless” (U.S.), Gus Van Sant (opener)
Skoonheid” (South Africa-France-Germany), Oliver Hermanus
“Tatsumi” (Singapore), Eric Khoo
“Trabalhar cansa” (Brazil), Juliana Rojas, Marco Dutra
“Toomelah” (Australia), Ivan Sen
“Where Do We Go Now?” (France-Lebanon), Nadine Labaki
“The Yellow Sea” (South Korea), Na Hong-jin

“The Beaver” (U.S.), Jodie Foster
“The Conquest” (France), Xavier Durringer
“Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides” (U.S.), Rob Marshall

“Wu xia” (China), Peter Chan Ho-sun
“Days of Grace” (Mexico), Everardo Gout

SPECIAL SCREENINGS“Labrador” (Denmark), Frederikke Aspock
“Le Maitre des forges de l’enfer” (Cambodia-France), Rithy Panh
“Michel Petrucciani” (France-Germany-Italy), Michael Radford
“Tous au Larzac” (France), Christian Rouaud

“Apres le sud” (France), Jean-Jacques Jauffret
“Blue Bird” (Belgium), Gust Van den Berghe
“Breathing” (Austria), Karl Markovics
“Code Blue” (Netherlands-Denmark), Urszula Antoniak
“Corpo celeste” (Italy-Switzerland-France), Alice Rohrwacher
“End of Silence” (France-Austria), Roland Edzard
“La Fee” (Belgium-France), Dominique Abel, Fiona Gordon, Bruno Romy (opening film)
“Les Geants” (Belgium-France-Luxembourg), Bouli Lanners (closing film)
“Impardonnables” (France), Andre Techine
“The Island” (Bulgaria-Sweden), Kamen Kalev
“Iris in Bloom” (France), Valerie Mrejen
“Joan Captive” (France), Philippe Ramos
“Mushrooms” (India-France), Vimukthi Jayasundara
“O abismo prateado” (Brazil), Karim Ainouz
“The Other Side of Sleep” (Ireland-Hungary-Netherlands), Rebecca Daly
“Palawan Fate” (Philippines), Auraeus Solito
“Play” (Sweden-France-Denmark), Ruben Ostlund
“Porfirio” (Colombia-Spain-Uruguay-Argentina-France), Alejandro Landes
“Return” (U.S.), Liza Johnson
“Sur la planche” (Morocco-France-Germany), Leila Kilani
“Volcano” (Denmark-Iceland), Runar Runarsson

“At Night, They Dance” (Canada), Stephane Thibault, Isabelle Lavigne
“Guilty of Romance” (Japan), Sion Sono
“Des Jeunes gens modernes” (France-Belgium), Jerome de Missolz
“El Velador” (Mexico-U.S.-France), Natalia Almada

“Las Acacias” (Argentina), Pablo Giorgelli
“Ave” (Bulgaria-France), Konstantin Bojanov
“Sauna on Moon” (China), Zou Peng
“17 Filles” (France), Delphine Coulin, Muriel Coulin
“The Slut” (Israel), Hagar Ben Asher
Snowtown” (Australia), Justin Kurzel
“Take Shelter” (U.S.), Jeff Nichols

“La Guerre est declaree” (France), Valerie Donzelli (opening film)
“My Little Princess” (France), Eva Ionesco
“Pourquoi tu pleures?” (France), Katia Lewcowicz (closing film)
“Walk Away Renee” (U.S.-France-Belgium), Jonathan Caouette

Return to main page

More Film

  • AMC theater

    AMC Entertainment Reports Mixed Fourth-Quarter Results

    AMC Entertainment has reported mixed fourth-quarter results, which saw revenues rise 2.4% to $1.45 billion, despite a 4.4% drop in U.S. attendance to 62.3 million. The exhibitor, owned by Dalian Wanda Group, announced a fourth-quarter loss of $13.5 million, compared to a year-earlier profit of $170.6 million, due to $84.3 million of expense related to [...]

  • 'Straight Up' Review: James Sweeney's Gay

    'Straight Up': Film Review

    There’s a tradition in movies, as vital as a hypnotic action scene or a swooning love scene, of dialogue so witty and nimble and rapid-fire that it comes at you like something out of a stylized dream. I first encountered that brand of high-velocity verbal jousting in “A Hard Day’s Night,” and later on in [...]

  • Cahiers du Cinema

    French Film Magazine Cahiers du Cinema's Staff Quits Over New Ownership

    The future of iconic French film publication Cahiers du Cinéma is in question after the outlet’s entire staff quit in protest over the brand’s new ownership. The 15-member editorial staff has spoken out against a perceived conflict of interest posed by the Cahier’s owners — a group of bankers, tech entrepreneurs and film producers that [...]

  • John Singleton Victoria Mahoney Spike Lee

    In Honor of Black History Month, a Look at Black Directors Who Made History

    In 2019, the USC Annenberg Inclusion Initiative reported that 2018 was a historic year for black filmmakers, noting a “record high when it came to hiring black directors.” The report reflected a significant change, showing the push for diversity both behind and in front of the camera. Though the numbers are increasing, the report also [...]

  • Benh Zeitlin Wendy Movie BTS

    Benh Zeitlin Goes Old-School With Stunts and Puppets for His Peter Pan Film 'Wendy'

    It has taken eight years for Benh Zeitlin to deliver the follow-up to his Oscar-nominated 2012 feature debut “Beasts of the Southern Wild.” But you could say the idea for “Wendy,” which reimagines the classic “Peter Pan” from the viewpoint of his female friend (played by first-time actor Devin France), has been percolating far longer [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content