Writers Guild of America East president Michael Winship is running unopposed for a third two-year term in the post.

Winship, a former senior writer for “Bill Moyers Journal,” was first elected to a two-year term in September 2007 over Tom Phillips and became part of the WGA’s negotiating team about a month before the guild launched its 100-day strike against the congloms. He was re-elected unopposed in 2009.

The WGA East made the announcement Thursday as part of disclosing the nominees for its council race. The New York-based WGA East, which reps about 4,000 scribes, has set its annual membership meeting for Sept. 15 and usually announces results the next day.

Winship is co-editor of the upcoming book “Bill Moyers Journal: The Conversation Continues.” Winship has won an Emmy along with two WGA Awards for commentaries written with Moyers.

The WGA West, which negotiates jointly with the WGA East on the master contract covering feature and TV work, is expected to announce its candidates next week.

The WGA East announced Thursday that councilmembers Jeremy Pikser and Matt Nelko are seeking the VP slot, currently occupied by Bob Schneider.

And Schneider is running unoposed for the Secretary-Treasurer post, currently occupied by Gail Lee.

The 14 candidates for the six open freelance seats are Robert Levi, Leslie Nipkow, Henry Bean, Tom Jennings, Bernardo Ruiz, Elliott Kalan, Daryn Strauss, Courtney Simon, Bonnie Datt, Michael Kantor, Richard Vetere, Susan Kim, Jenny Lumet and John Marshall. Kim and Simon are incumbents.

The four candidates for the three open staff seats are Gail Lee, Duane Tollison, Sue Brown McCann and Phil Pilato.