In “FlashForward’s” flashforward, “FlashForward” is dead.

That’s the word coming out of ABC, which wasn’t expected to renew the sci-fi skein. The renewal of fellow frosh sci-fi skein “V” repped the final nail in the coffin.

Alphabet launched “FlashForward” with great hope, and the show was initially met with strong reviews and a solid opening. ABC execs were so excited about the original pilot that they even promoted the show last May during the “Lost” finale.

But “FlashForward” soon suffered creative problems, something it faced throughout its run. The show went through three rounds of showrunners – with Jessika Borsiczky, Lisa Zwerling and Tim Lea most recently in charge.

Borsiczky, Zwerling and Lea replaced David Goyer, who exited as showrunner in February (but remained an exec producer). Goyer co-created “FlashForward” with Brannon Braga, and assumed the showrunner role after original showrunner Mark Guggenheim exited in the fall.

ABC also reduced its order on the series, from 23 episodes back down to 22. That was a reversal from October, when the Alphabet upped its count to 25. Show’s number was later reduced to 24, then 23.

What’s more, the show’s lengthy hiatus meant that “FlashForward’s” whole premise – what happened during the April 29, 2010 blackout – was pushed to a May 27 airdate.

Based on the 1999 novel “FlashForward” by Robert J. Sawyer, show starred Joseph Fiennes as an FBI agent trying to figure out what caused the entire world to black out – and see visions of the future – for two minutes and 17 seconds.

Goyer, who directed the pilot, exec produced with Braga, Borsiczky, Zwerling and Lea.

John Cho, Jack Davenport, Zachary Knighton, Peyton List, Dominic Monaghan, Courtney B. Vance and Sonya Walger, among others, also starred.