‘Boardwalk,’ ‘Smallville’ rule ASC’s TV nominations

Cinematographers to hold awards ceremony Feb. 13

The lensers behind two different episodes of HBO’s “Boardwalk Empire” and of the CW’s “Smallville” were among the seven nominees in the television episodic series/pilot category when the American Society of Cinematographers announced TV contenders for their awards competition, taking place Feb. 13 at the Hollywood & Highland Grand Ballroom.

Jonathan Freeman and Kramer Morgenthau, who shot the “Home” and “Family Limitation” episodes of “Boardwalk,” respectively, will compete against Eagle Egilsson (TNT’s “Dark Blue”), Christopher Manley (AMC’s “Mad Men”), David Stockton (CW’s “Nikita”) and the two “Smallville” lensers, Michael Wale and Glen Winter.

Finalists in the TV movie/miniseries category are David Gribble for CBS’ “Jesse Stone: No Remorse,” Jon Joffin for “Alice” (Syfy) and Stephen Windon for HBO’s “The Pacific.”

“Our members who judged these competitions were impressed by the brilliant and artful cinematography done this year,” said ASC awards chair Richard Crudo in a statement.

ASC president Michael Goi added: “The level of artistry and innovation in television cinematography has never been higher than it is now. Narrowing down the field to these nominees was difficult given the general excellence of the submissions.”