The Writers Guild of America has asked for submissions for its seventh annual documentary screenplay nod — the only feature category in which the guild allows scripts not under WGA jurisdiction.

Deadline for submissions is Nov. 23. Nominees will be announced Jan. 4 along with original and adapted screenplay nominations with winners announced Feb. 5 at simultaneous ceremonies in Los Angeles and New York.

Mark Monroe won the most recent trophy for “The Cove.” Previous winners are Morgan Spurlock (“Super Size Me”), Alex Gibney (“Enron: The Smartest Guys in the Room,” “Taxi to the Dark Side”), Amy Berg (“Deliver Us From Evil”) and Ari Folman (“Waltz with Bashir”).

The guild noted in its announcement Thursday that it established the award “to recognize that most non-fiction feature films are written” along with spotlighting its ongoing efforts to organize documentary writers.

To be eligible, documentaries must contain an on-screen writing credit and have been exhibited theatrically in Los Angeles or New York for at least one week during 2010. Additionally, writers are required to join either the WGAW Nonfiction Writers Caucus or the WGAE Nonfiction Writers Caucus.

Documentaries that have been shown first on TV are not eligible but foreign-language films are, provided they feature English-language subtitles.

The WGA announced creation of the docu nod in 2004 while at the same time excluding nonfiction works from its original screenplay award. Move came a year after Michael Moore won the guild’s original screenplay nod for “Bowling for Columbine.”