You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Endgame lands ‘Layover’

Film unit nabs action-thriller spec script

Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.”

Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.”

Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is forced to confront the demons of his deadly past.

Basil Iwanyk (“Clash of the Titans”) is in negotiations to produce via his Thunder Road banner.

Although the spec market is limping along, Endgame been on something of a buying spree lately, acquiring a handful of scripts in the last month alone, including the Ellen Page starrer “Freeheld.”

Dean’s project “Kin” is being produced by Madhouse Entertainment and Mutual Film Co., with 2929 Films financing. Stefan Ruzowitzky (“The Counterfeiters”) is attached to direct.

Until recently, Dean taught screenwriting and digital film production at the Riverdale Country School in the Bronx.

He is repped by UTA and Madhouse.

More Film

  • Tiffany Haddish, Timothee Chalamet, Mindy Kaling

    Academy Invites Record 928 New Members

    Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.” Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.” Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is […]

  • Les Arcs European Film Festival Launches

    Les Arcs Festival Joins Forces With Tel Aviv Student Fest, CineFabrique School to Launch Talent Village

    Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.” Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.” Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is […]

  • Teach Grant

    'It: Chapter 2': Teach Grant to Play Adult Henry Bowers (EXCLUSIVE)

    Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.” Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.” Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is […]

  • Christoph Terhechte to Lead Revived Marrakech

    Former Berlinale Section Director to Head Revived Marrakech Film Festival

    Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.” Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.” Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is […]

  • Los Angeles Animation Festival Will Honor

    Titmouse Founder Chris Prynoski to be Honored at Los Angeles Animation Festival (Exclusive)

    Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.” Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.” Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is […]

  • Martin Scorsese, Sigourney Weaver to Appear

    Martin Scorsese, Sigourney Weaver, Giuseppe Tornatore Set for Rome Film Festival

    Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.” Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.” Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is […]

  • Terence Stamp English actor Terence Stamp

    Terence Stamp, Gemma Arterton Join Netflix's 'Murder Mystery'

    Endgame Entertainment has nabbed the action-thriller spec “Layover.” Script was penned by Gotham teacher-turned-screenwriter Zach Dean, who recently generated heat off his contemporary Western “Kin.” Described as in the vein of “Heat” and “Taken,” “Layover” centers on a single father in hiding who loses his teenaged daughter during a layover in Las Vegas and is […]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content