Art Directors Guild names nominees

'Avatar' in race for fantasy category award

“Avatar” has maintained its awards season momentum with a nomination by the Art Directors Guild for excellence in production design in the fantasy category for Rick Carter and Robert Stromberg.

The guild unveiled the nominations Friday. Winners will be announced Feb. 13 at the ADG’s 14th annual awards ceremonies at the Beverly Hilton.

Besides “Avatar,” other nominations in the fantasy category went to Philip Ivey for “District 9,” Stuart Craig for “Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince,” Scott Chambliss for “Star Trek” and K.K. Barrett for “Where the Wild Things Are.”

The period film category drew noms for Jess Gonchor for “A Serious Man,” David Wasco for “Inglourious Basterds,” Mark Ricker for “Julie and Julia,” Nathan Crowley for “Public Enemies” and Sarah Greenwood for “Sherlock Holmes.”

The ADG’s contemporary film competition includes nods for Allan Cameron for “Angels & Demons,” Bill Brzeski for “The Hangover,” Karl Julisson for “The Hurt Locker,” Naomi Shohan for “The Lovely Bones” and Steve Saklad for “Up in the Air.”

The guild also unveiled noms in five TV categories. Single camera series nods went to Mark Hutman for “Glee,” Dan Bishop for “Mad Men,” Michael Wylie for “Pusing Daisies,” Suzuki Ingerslev for “True Blood” and Mark Worthington for “Ugly Betty.”

Recipients of nominations for television movie or miniseries were Yuda Acco for “Ben 10 Alien Swarm,” Kalina Ivanov for “Grey Gardens” and Michael Pickwoad for “The Prisoner.”

Contenders for best episode of a half-hour single-camera series include Keith Ian Raywood and Teresa Mastropierro for “30 Rock,” Dan Butts for “Flight of the Conchords,” Richard Berg for “Modern Family,” Michael Gallenberg for “The Office” and Joseph P. Lucky for “Weeds.”

Nominees for best episode of a multi-camera, variety or unscripted series are John Shaffner for “The Big Bang Theory,” R. Brandt Daniels for “The Jay Leno Show,” John Janavs for “Hell’s Kitchen,” Stphan Olson for “How I Met Your Mother” and Eugene Lee, Akira Yoshimura and Keith Ian Raywood for “Saturday Night Live.” Brian Stonestreet and Steve Bass took a nomination for the “51st Annual Grammy Awards” in the awards, music or game shows category. Stonestreet also received a nod for “66th Annual Golden Globes” while Bass took another for “61st Annual Emmy Awards; other nomds in the category went to Anne Brahic for “2009 CMT Music Awards” and Renee Hoss-Johnson for “Wheel of Fortune.”

Popular on Variety

More Film

  • Amanda Awards

    ‘Out Stealing Horses’ Tops Norway’s 2019 Amanda Awards

    HAUGESUND, Norway —  Hans Petter Moland’s sweeping literary adaptation “Out Stealing Horses” put in a dominant showing at Norway’s Amanda Awards on Saturday night, placing first with a collected five awards, including best Norwegian film. Celebrating its 35th edition this year, the Norwegian industry’s top film prize helped kick off the Haugesund Film Festival and [...]

  • Editorial use onlyMandatory Credit: Photo by

    Richard Williams, 'Who Framed Roger Rabbit' Animator, Dies at 86

    Renowned animator Richard Williams, best known for his work on “Who Framed Roger Rabbit,” died Friday at his home in Bristol, England, Variety has confirmed. He was 86. Williams was a distinguished animator, director, producer, author and teacher whose work has garnered three Oscars and three BAFTA Awards. In addition to his groundbreaking work as [...]

  • Instinct

    Locarno Film Review: 'Instinct'

    Now that “Game of Thrones” has finally reached its conclusion, releasing its gifted international ensemble into the casting wilds, will Hollywood remember just what it has in Carice van Houten? It’s not that the statuesque Dutch thesp hasn’t been consistently employed since her startling 2006 breakout in Paul Verhoeven’s “Black Book,” or even that she’s [...]

  • Good Boys Movie

    Box Office: 'Good Boys' Eyes Best Original Comedy Opening of 2019

    Universal’s “Good Boys” is surpassing expectations as it heads toward an estimated $20.8 million opening weekend at the domestic box office following $8.3 million in Friday ticket sales. That’s well above earlier estimates which placed the film in the $12 million to $15 million range, marking the first R-rated comedy to open at No. 1 [...]

  • Pedro Costa’s 'Vitalina Varela' Wins at

    Pedro Costa’s 'Vitalina Varela' Triumphs at Locarno Film Festival

    The 72nd Locarno Film Festival drew to a close Saturday with Portuguese auteur Pedro Costa’s dark and detached film “Vitalina Varela” coming away with several awards together with superlatives from segments of the hardcore cinephile crowd, including jury president Catherine Breillat. In announcing the Golden Leopard prize for the film, as well as best actress [...]

  • Vitalina Varela

    Locarno Film Review: 'Vitalina Varela'

    Frequently beautiful compositions and the theatrical use of a fierce kind of artifice have long been the hallmarks of Portuguese auteur Pedro Costa, regarded by a small but influential group of aesthetes as one of the great filmmakers of our era. For those in tune with his vision, the director’s films offer an exciting lesson [...]

  • Notre dame

    Locarno Film Review: 'Notre dame'

    Not to be too cynical about it, but might the recent horrific fire in Paris’ cathedral attract audiences to a film in which the gothic gem plays a major role? It’s likely a wiser marketing strategy than promoting the unrelenting silliness of Valerie Donzelli’s oh-so-kooky comedy “Notre dame,” the writer-director-star’s return to contemporary Paris following [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content