Academy unveils Screenwriting Fellowships

Five writers win 25th annual competition

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences has announced five writers as winners of the 25th annual Don and Gee Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting.

Recipients are Destin Daniel Cretton for “Short Term 12,” Marvin Krueger for “And Handled With a Chain,” Andrew Lanham for “The Jumper of Maine,” Micah Ranum for “A Good Hunter” and Cinthea Stahl for “Identifying Marks.”

Each will receive a $30,000 prize; the Nicholls fellows will be honored at a dinner in Beverly Hills on Nov. 4.

The Academy received 6,304 entries this year. Competish is open to any individual who has not sold or optioned a screenplay or teleplay for more than $5,000 or received a fellowship or prize that includes a first-look clause. Fellowships are awarded with the expectation that recipients will complete a feature-length screenplay during their fellowship year, but the Acad doesn’t take any rights to the finished works.