You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

‘Lust’ moves Cairo Film Festival jury

Khaled al-Haggar's pic takes the Golden Pyramid award

CAIRO — Egyptian melodrama “Lust” (Al-shooq), directed by Khaled al-Haggar, took home the Golden Pyramid Thursday night at the 34th Cairo Film Festival, the oldest annual cinema event in the Arab world.

In addition to the usual competitions as well as a full slate of symposia, the fest hosted its first co-production market, the Cairo Film Connection, headed by producer/helmer Marianne Khoury under the auspices of the Egyptian Film Center and Misr Intl. Films.

Ten scripts competed for a pre-production funding grant of Egyptian £100,00 ($17,200), which was awarded to Ayten Amin’s black comedy, “69 Al-Mesaha Square” (69 Medan Al-Mesaha).

Bulgarian helmer Svetoslav Ovtcharov nabbed the director prize for “Voice Over,” which also received the Fipresci international jury’s nod of distinction.

Thesping awards were split for both genders: the actress honor was shared by Sawsan Badr for “Lust” and Isabelle Huppert for Marc Fitoussi’s “Copacabana,” while best actor was shared by Alessandro Gassman and Amr Waked for Ricky Tognazzi’s “The Father and the Foreigner,” which preemed at the Rome Film Festival.

Also cut down the middle was the scripting prize, which went to Lebanese helmer Georges Hachem for “Stray Bullet” and Mohamed Al-Daradji for Iraq’s “Son of Babylon.”

In other sections, Ahmad Abdalla’s “Microphone,” an infectious indie tale set against Alexandria’s underground music scene, won the Arab Film competition.

Following screenings in international fests including Toronto, London, Vancouver and Carthage, the pic was given an adulatory reception by a standing-room-only crowd for its Egyptian premiere.

Dutch drama “Joy,” by helmer Mijke de Jong, went home with the top prize in the digital competition. Juliette Binoche and Richard Gere were on-hand at the fest’s start to receive career tributes.

The three-day Cairo Film Connection platform attracted 10 Arab filmmakers, including Assad Fouladkar, Tamer Ezzat, and Asaad Kelada, who pitched projects to a range of producers, distributors and sales agents as well a five-person international jury. An announced post-production grant for a work-in-progress was not awarded.

Popular on Variety

More Scene

  • Rami Malek, Robert Pattinson and John

    Robert Pattinson Praises Fans for Raising Funds for Go Campaign: ‘It’s So Sweet’

    Robert Pattinson is giving back, but he’s even more impressed that his friends and fans are joining him in the fight. “It’s amazing,” Pattinson told Variety on the black carpet outside Neuehouse in Hollywood at the Go Campaign’s annual gala. “And they’ve done it every year. It’s kind of — it’s so sweet and I [...]

  • Leonardo DiCaprio, Martin Scorsese, Al PacinoKirk

    Martin Scorsese Saluted by Leonardo DiCaprio, Al Pacino at Santa Barbara Film Fest Gala

    Leonardo DiCaprio and Al Pacino saluted Martin Scorsese‘s dedication and risk-taking at his Santa Barbara International Film Festival tribute, while the filmmaker spoke about the importance of “individual artistic expression.” More than 300 people attended the black-tie gala on Thursday night in Scorsese’s honor at the Ritz-Carlton Bacara in Santa Barbara, where festival exec director [...]

  • DOLEMITE IS MY NAME!, 2019, DOL_Unit_06284.RAF

    'Dolemite Is My Name' Writer Larry Karaszewski Recalls 10-Year Journey to Make Rudy Ray Moore Biopic

    “Harriet” writer-director Kasi Lemmons was in a reflective mood at Tuesday night’s “Behind the Screen” event at the Formosa Cafe in West Hollywood, sponsored by the Writers Guild of America West. The biopic, starring Cynthia Erivo as slave-turned-abolitionist Harriet Tubman, has been receiving buzz since its premiere at the Toronto International Film Festival. It’s Lemmons’ [...]

  • Taika Waititi and Roman Griffin Davis

    Holocaust Experts Debate 'Jojo Rabbit' at Museum of Tolerance Screening

    With its comedic, cartoonish portrayal of Nazis, Taika Waititi’s satirical Hitler youth tale “Jojo Rabbit” has polarized critics and audiences alike. And that division continued to be stirred at Tuesday night’s screening of the film at the Museum of Tolerance in Los Angeles, where Liebe Geft, director of the museum, moderated a heated panel discussion [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content