Variety has unveiled its 16th annual Directors to Watch list.

The list of up-and-coming helmers is chosen annually through surveys of industry insiders as well as Variety’s critics, editors and reporters.

The 2011 selections are:

Richard Ayoade (“Submarine”)

Daniel Espinosa (“Snabba Cash,” “Safe House”)

Ed Gass-Donnelly (“Small Town Murder Songs”)

Elgin James (“Little Birds”)

Patrick Lussier (“Drive Angry”)

Baran Bo Odar (“The Silence”)

Andre Ovredal (“The Troll Hunter”)

Denis Villeneueve (“Incendies”)

Juanita Wilson (“As If I Am Not There”)

Jason Winer (“Arthur”)

Full profiles of the helmers will be included in Variety’s Directors to Watch issue on Jan. 7. The helmers will be feted at a reception held Jan. 9 as part of the Palm Springs Film Festival.