You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

‘Swan’ tops with Austin critics

Aronofsky, Portman, scribes honored

The Austin Film Critics Assn. has tapped “Black Swan” as the top 2010 film and also honored director Darren Aronofsky, lead actress Natalie Portman, screenwriters Mark Heyman, Andres Heinz, and John McLaughlin and cinematographer Matthew Libatique.

The group, in an announcement Wednesday, also selected Colin Firth as best actor for “The King’s Speech,” Christian Bale as best supporting actor for “The Fighter” and Hailee Steinfeld as best supporting actress for “True Grit.”

Aaron Sorkin won the adapted screenplay kudo for “The Social Network,” which as also named as the group’s second best film of the year, followed by “Inception,” “Toy Story 3,” “The King’s Speech,” “True Grit,” “The Fighter,” “Un Prophete,” “Winter’s Bone” and “Scott Pilgrim vs. the World.”

“Un Prophète” won best foreign language film, Daft Punk was recognized for original score for “Tron: Legacy,” “Toy Story 3” won best animated feature and “Exit Through the Gift Shop” was awarded best documentary.

Chloe Moretz won the org’s Robert R. McCurdy Memorial Breakthrough Artist Award for her work in both “Let Me In” and “Kick-Ass.” Gareth Edwards’ “Monsters” was named best first film and Ben Steinbauer’s “Winnebago Man” won Best Austin Film.

The AFCA also gave a special honorary award to “Friday Night Lights.”

More Scene

  • Katie HolmesAT&T Presents: Untold Stories Luncheon

    Katie Holmes, Kal Penn Help Decide Winner of $1 Million Filmmaker Grant

    Tribeca Film Festival and AT&T gave one young filmmaker a million and one reasons to rejoice at the “Untold Stories” third annual competition. After a nerve-wracking 10-minute long pitch in front of over 850,000 live stream audience members and a panel consisting of celebrities and industry leaders, filmmaker Kate Tsang was awarded $1 million Monday [...]

  • Laurie Metcalf, John Lithgow'Hillary and Clinton'

    Why John Lithgow Worried About Starring in Broadway's 'Hillary and Clinton'

    When Lucas Hnath first conceived of “Hillary and Clinton” in 2008, he was writing for and about a very different America. Now, a total reimagining of the show has made its way to Broadway with Laurie Metcalf and John Lithgow in the titular roles. At the opening on Thursday night, the cast and creatives talked [...]

  • Patrick Page, Amber Grey, Eva Noblezada,

    'Hadestown' Took 12 Years to Get to Broadway, but It's More Relevant Than Ever

    When “Hadestown” was first staged as a tiny, DIY theater project in Vermont, those involved could never have predicted that it was the start of a 12-year journey to Broadway — or how painfully relevant it would be when it arrived. At Wednesday night’s opening at the Walter Kerr Theatre, the cast and creatives discussed [...]

  • Mick Jagger

    Mick Jagger Makes First Post-Surgery Appearance at Rolling Stones Ballet Premiere

    Rock legend Mick Jagger made his first public appearance post-heart surgery on Thursday night to catch a glimpse of the world premiere of the Rolling Stones ballet “Porte Rouge.” “I hope you are going to enjoy this wonderful new ballet, and, of course, the music,” the frontman declared in a pre-recorded message to the audience [...]

  • Adam Driver appears at the curtain

    Adam Driver on Starring in 'Burn This' for a Second Time

    The Hudson Theatre’s new production of “Burn This” marks its first Broadway revival since it premiered on the Great White Way in 1987, but Adam Driver is no stranger to the work. He starred as Pale in a Juilliard production of the Lanford Wilson drama when he was still a student — and only now, [...]

  • PMC Event Rome

    Film, Fashion, Formula E Mix at Rome E-Prix Bash

    Film, fashion and Formula E auto-racing fused during a dinner and celebration of the Rome E-Prix on Thursday at the Palazzo Dama by the Piazza del Popolo in the heart of the Eternal City.  Guests mingled and sipped cocktails as hors d’oeuvres were passed around in a former home of the Italian nobility with conversation [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content