You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Bigelow first woman to win director Oscar

58-year-old 'Hurt Locker' helmer makes history

Kathryn Bigelow’s Oscar win for directing “The Hurt Locker” capped an awards season that saw the 58-year-old helmer emerge as the first woman to win the honor in the 82-year history of the Academy.

She took the nod over fellow nominees James Cameron for “Avatar,” Lee Daniels for “Precious,” Jason Reitman for “Up in the Air” and Quentin Tarantino for “Inglourious Basterds.”

On opening the envelope Sunday night, presenter Barbra Streisand declared, “Well, the time has come.”

Bigelow described her win as “the moment of a lifetime.” Asked backstage her reaction as the first woman to win the directing award, the helmer said she hopes “I’m the first of many. And of course, I’d love to just think of myself as a filmmaker, and I long for the day when a modifier can be a moot point.”

Five weeks ago, Bigelow defeated the same quartet for the DGA award, becoming the first woman to ever win that nod. The Oscar and DGA awards have matched in all but six years since 1948.

Bigelow’s past films, such as “Point Break” and “Strange Days,” were touted for their intensity, but her work on “The Hurt Locker” dialed that up several notches. Shot in Jordan for a budget of under $20 million, “Hurt Locker” received widespread praise for providing a searing portrait of U.S. military bomb-defusing squads in Iraq.

Throughout the awards season, Bigelow emphasized the responsibility she felt to tell the story of the squads in Iraq with as much honesty as possible — “given the courage of the men and women in the field,” she said when she won the DGA award.

She concluded her speech Sunday by saying that she was dedicating the Oscar to “the women and men who risk their lives on a daily basis in Iraq and Afghanistan.”

Bigelow was only the fourth woman director to receive an Oscar nom, following Lena Wertmuller for “Seven Beauties,” Jane Campion for “The Piano” and Sofia Coppola for “Lost in Translation.”

Complete list of winners
TV review: 82nd annual Academy Awards
‘Hurt Locker’ wins big at Oscars
Oscars draw 41 million viewers

Popular on Variety

More Film

  • Scarlett Johansson poses for photographers upon

    Scarlett Johansson 'Pushing' for All-Women Marvel Movie

    After the epic battle scene in “Avengers: Endgame” depicted the female superheroes uniting to protect Spider-Man from Thanos, Marvel fans started wondering if they’ll ever see the women unite for a standalone movie. “Captain Marvel” star Brie Larson generated even more buzz when she told Variety that she and other female co-stars have approached Marvel [...]

  • Ivana Lombardi Netflix

    Annapurna Film Head Ivana Lombardi Named Director of Indies at Netflix (EXCLUSIVE)

    Annapurna Pictures president of film Ivana Lombardi is moving across town to Netflix, after almost a year in her role at Megan Ellison’s company. As of Nov. 6, Lombardi will serve as director of independent films at the streamer. She will report directly to Lisa Nishimura, Netflix’s vice president of independent film and documentary features. [...]

  • Zoe Kravitz 'Big Little Lies' TV

    Zoe Kravitz to Play Catwoman in 'The Batman'

    “Big Little Lies” star Zoe Kravitz has been tapped to play Catwoman, the antiheroine and sometime love interest of the Caped Crusader, in Matt Reeves’ upcoming “The Batman.” Kravitz will star opposite Robert Pattinson as Batman. Pre-production on the Warner Bros.-DC Comics pic is expected to start this summer. No official start date has been [...]

  • Hadley Robinson Amy Poehler

    'Little Women' Actress Hadley Robinson to Star in Amy Poehler's 'Moxie'

    “Utopia” and “Little Women” actress Hadley Robinson has been tapped to star in Amy Poehler’s next directorial effort “Moxie.” Lauren Tsai is also on board to co-star in the Netflix movie. “Moxie” follows a teenage girl (Robinson) from a small town who is inspired by her mother’s Riot Girl past and starts a feminist revolution [...]

  • Samara Weaving

    'G.I. Joe' Spinoff 'Snake Eyes' Adds 'Ready or Not's' Samara Weaving

    Samara Weaving will join Henry Golding in the “G.I. Joe” spinoff, “Snake Eyes.” Haruka Abe, Ursula Corbero, Iko Uwais and Andrew Koji have also boarded the Paramount, Skydance and AllSpark movie. “The Captain” director Robert Schwentke is helming and Brian Goldner is producing. Evan Spiliotopoulos, who wrote “Beauty and the Beast” and “The Huntsman: Winter’s [...]

  • The Irishman

    'The Irishman' to Screen at Hollywood's Egyptian Theatre

    Netflix’s “The Irishman,” directed by Martin Scorsese, will screen at American Cinematheque’s Egyptian Theatre in Hollywood  for two weeks starting Nov. 1. The screenings, announced Monday, are part of the limited theatrical run for the 209-minute crime drama, which premiered at the New York Film Festival on Sept. 27. Netflix will begin streaming “The Irishman” on [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content