Streamy Awards unveil Web TV nominees

'Bannen Way,' 'Guild' top online television noms

Con men and a hapless bunch of online gaming addicts got top nods from the International Academy of Web Television Monday morning as the list of Streamy Award nominees was unveiled.

Action-drama serial “The Bannen Way” and “The Guild,” a comedy about online gamers, led the noms with seven each. “Easy to Assemble,” another comedy about previously successful actors who now work at IKEA, earned six nods.

Winners will be announced April 11 at an event in Hollywood. The ceremony will, appropriately, be broadcast live online.

While many of the actors and actresses in Web television programming are not exactly famous, this year’s crop of nominees has several well-known names. Lisa Kudrow, Illeana Douglas, Justine Bateman and Felicia Day are in the running for Best Female Actor in a Comedy Web Series. Robert Englund (“Nightmare on Elm Street”) and Eric Balfour (“24”) drew a nod for Best Male Actor in a Drama Web Series.

Among those earning Best Guest Star nods were Nathan Fillion, Courteney Cox, Wil Wheaton and “Weird Al” Yankovic.

Showtime earned two nods for its companion Web series for “Dexter” and “Weeds”. Those will compete with entries from NBC’s “The Office,” CBS’ “Harpers Island” mini-series and Ubisoft’s video game “Assassin’s Creed”.

The Streamy Awards consist of 34 categories – including 11 to different types of programming, including drama, comedy, news and animation. Founding organization the IAWTV is a consortium of digital entertainment leaders that recognizes excellence in original online episodic programming.