Greek filmmakers boycott fails to derail doc fest

Top prize goes to 'Gaza We Are Coming'

A boycott by filmmakers campaigning for an effective new film law in Greece failed to derail the 12th Thessaloniki Documentary Festival, which closed Saturday with the prize for Greek film over 45-minutes long going to “Gaza erhomaste” (Gaza We Are Coming) by Yorgos Avgeropoulos and Ioannis Karypidis.

The prize for Greek doc under 45 minutes went to “Energo melos” (Active Member) by Lefteris Fylaktos.

The international award went to helmer Gonzalo Arijon’s “Eyes Wide Open — Exploring Today’s South America” (Uruguay) for a film over 45 minutes and to Vahagn Karapetyan’s “Odysseas” and Armenian-Greek doc, for a shorter film.

The Fipresci critics awards went to “Taxidiara psihi” (Wandering Soul) by Angeliki Aristomenopoulou from the Greek selection and to Alberto Arce and Mohamma Rujalah of Spain for “To Shoot an Elephant” from the international selection.

An Amnesty Intl. award for the best film dealing with human rights issues went to “Petition” by Zhao Liang, (France-China).

Organisers of the fest said that the boycott by 19 filmmakers who refused to participate in the event failed to have an impact.

The number of Greek docs screened at the fest was up on last year with 68 films compared to 61.