You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

London Film Fest unveils shortlist

This year's jury to be chaired by Patricia Clarkson

LONDON — The London Film Festival unveiled its shortlist for Best Film Award, Best British Newcomer and Best Documentary on Thursday.

Up for Best Film are Danny Boyle’s “127 Hours;” Mike Leigh’s “Another Year;” Joanna Hogg’s “Archipelago;” Darren Aronofsky’s “Black Swan;” Colin Firth and Geoffrey Rush starrer “The King’s Speech;” “Meek’s Cut-Off” from helmer Kelly Reichardt; Carey Mulligan and Keira Knightley starrer “Never Let Me Go;” Gaul titles “Of Gods and Men” helmed by Xavier Beauvois and Catherine Breillat’s “The Sleeping Beauty;” and Cannes Palme d’Or winner “Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives.”

This year’s jury will be chaired by thesp Patricia Clarkson and includes Gabriel Byrne, Sandy Powell and Shekhar Kapur.

Helmer Danny Boyle will be awarded the BFI Fellowship for his outstanding contribution to film culture.

The shortlist for Best British Newcomer includes helmer/scribes Brian Welsh (“In Our Name”); Clio Barnard (“The Arbor”); and Richard Ayolade, whose pic “Submarine” was snapped up by the Weinstein Co. for domestic distribution in Toronto this year.

Producers Michelle Eastwood (“In Our Name”) and Tracey O’Riordan (“The Arbor”) also join the best newcomers list with thesps Conor McCarron (“Neds”); Craig Roberts (“Submarine”); and Manjinder Virk (“The Arbor”).

The Grierson Award for Best Doc will be decided by a jury chaired by “The Last King of Scotland” helmer Kevin Macdonald.

Docs up for the award are Danish pic “Armadillo;” “Benda Bilili!” from Gaul; Aaron Schock’s “Circo;” “Maria and I” from Spain; Argentine pic “The Peddler;” Kim Longinotto’s “Pink Saris;” Amir Bar-Lev’s “The Tillman Story;” and “Waste Land” from helmer Lucy Walker.

The previously announced Sutherland shortlist, which is presented to the helmer of the most original and imaginative feature debut at the fest, will be chaired by a jury which includes Michael Winterbottom, Olivia Williams, Rebecca O’Brien, Esther Freud and indie distrib Soda Pictures’ MD Ed Fletcher.

This year’s BFI London Film Festival runs from October 13-28.

More Film

  • Australia' s Oscar contender BuoyancyC

    Rod Rathjen on Why Human Trafficking Tale 'Buoyancy' Had to be Made as Fiction

    Australian Rod Rathjen’s first film as director, “Buoyancy” is a powerful dramatization of human trafficking within Thailand’s offshore fishing fleet. Shot largely in Khmer and Thai, and selected as Australia’s foreign-language Oscar contender, it may also be a role model for cultural sensitivity and activism. The film plays this week in competition at the International [...]

  • Bong Joon Ho Talks 'Parasite' on

    'Parasite' Director Bong Joon Ho Makes Late Night Debut Following Three Globe Nominations

    “Parasite” director Bong Joon Ho sat down for his first U.S. late-night appearance on “Late Night With Jimmy Fallon” Monday night. The director, who received best director and best original screenplay Globen Globe nominations with co-writer Han Jin Won, plus a best foreign language nod Monday morning, did not give much away about the film’s [...]

  • The Cold Blue

    Erik Nelson Wants to Preserve the Past With 'The Cold Blue' World War II Documentary

    Erik Nelson describes his documentary “The Cold Blue” as “the garage band of movies” — he didn’t have the large team or crew other documentary contenders have. “The Cold Blue” is a World War II documentary that looks at raids and B-17 bombing missions that took place during the war. Nelson’s team looked at 34 [...]

  • Ray Manzarek

    Film News Roundup: Concert-Documentary 'The Doors: Break on Thru' Set for February

    In today’s film news roundup, one-night showings of a Ray Manzarek tribute and the season premiere of “Doctor Who” have been set for 2020, and the MPAA hires a copyright expert. ONE-NIGHT SHOWINGS The Doors and Trafalgar Releasing are teaming on the worldwide Feb. 12 release of “The Doors: Break on Thru – A Celebration [...]

  • Richard Jewell

    Warner Bros. Hits Back at Atlanta Paper Over 'Richard Jewell' Legal Threat

    Warner Bros. is standing behind “Richard Jewell,” the Clint Eastwood drama that is the source of controversy over its portrayal of a female journalist trading sex for scoops. The Atlanta Journal-Constitution sent a legal threat to the filmmakers on Monday asking them to include a disclaimer noting that the film took dramatic license. In a [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content