‘White Lightnin’ ‘ wins Mumbai prize

Hogg takes actor award, Steen nabs actress

LONDON — British director Dominic Murphy’s “White Lightnin’ ” has won best film in the international competition for debut films at the Mumbai Academy of Moving Images’ 11th Mumbai Film Festival.

Edward Hogg won best actor for the same film, while Paprika Steen won best actress for “Applause.” Adrian Biniez won best director for “Gigante.” Italian film “La Pivellina,” directed by Tizza Covi and Rainer Frimmel was awarded the grand jury prize while “Katalin Varga” won the camera and sound award.

Indian actor Amitabh Bachchan won the lifetime achievement award and the international lifetime award was presented to Theo Angelopoulos.

MAMI chairperson and renowned Indian director Shyam Benegal said, “This festival brought together some of the best cinematic talent from across the globe. We watched some very well-crafted films covering a range of themes and issues.”

The jury this year included writer/director Paul Schrader, Sri Lankan director Vimukthi Jayasundara, Philippines director Brillante Mendoza, Indian director Shaji N. Karun and former Locarno Film Festival director Irene Bignardi.

This year’s edition of the festival saw the introduction of a Film Business Center. Companies represented at the Center included the U.K. Film Council, UniFrance, Pioniwa Film Co., Channel Asia and HanWay Films.

Fest unspooled Oct. 29- Nov. 5.