Daly elected to AFI’s board of directors

Former WB chairman succeeds Avnet, Cooke

Former Warner Bros. chairman-CEO Bob Daly has been elected chair of the American Film Institute’s Board of Directors, succeeding co-chairs Jon Avnet and John Cooke.

Avnet and Cooke remain as AFI directors, with Avnet continuing as vice chair of the AFI Board of Trustees.

Also voted to return to the board of trustees were Robert Bennett, Allen Bernstein, Richard Frank, Kathleen Kennedy, John Hendricks, Barry Meyer, Leslie Moonves, Jill Sackler and Steven Spielberg.

Appointed as ex-officio members of the AFI Trustees were DGA president Taylor Hackford, SAG president Ken Howard, AFI Associates president Barbara Phillips, AMPAS president Tom Sherak and WGA West president John Wells.

AFI Trustees must rotate off the board for at least a year after serving three three-year terms. The board of directors acts as an executive committee that sets AFI’s priorities and oversees its programs.

Howard Stringer, chairman and CEO of Sony Corp., remains chair of the AFI Board of Trustees.