Michael Goi has been named president of the American Society of Cinematographers, chosen by the organization’s 16-member board of directors. Goi, 50, succeeds Daryn Okada, who served three consecutive one-year terms.

The selection of Goi follows last week’s election of board members, some of whom are continuing in previous capacities, such as VPs Richard Crudo and Owen Roizman, both of whom have also served as ASC presidents.

New to the board are Matt Leonetti, treasurer; and Rodney Taylor, secretary; as well as George Spiro Dibie, Richard Edlund, Haskell Wexler and Vilmos Zsigmond.

Goi, whose credits include NBC’s “My Name Is Earl” and the telefilm “Judas,” takes over the ASC’s reins during a period of technological transition, as the traditional use of film increasingly gives way to digital capture and digital post among dramatic features. But the 90-year-old organization, whose membership is invite-only, has become less militant over the years in its championing of film, and more open to new technology.

“We are partnering with the Producers Guild of America on a groundbreaking assessment of film and digital cameras that are currently being used during the production of theatrical motion pictures,” Goi said in ASC’s announcement. “We are also collaborating with other organizations, including a pre-visualization committee with the Art Directors Guild and Visual Effects Society, designed to help drive the industry toward a higher quality bar for the art and craft of moving images.”

Goi, who was previously a VP on the board, also likely will continue to be involved with the renovation of the org’s 70-year-old clubhouse in Hollywood, which will entail adding an additional 1,500 square feet, and two more stories, to the original structure.