‘Hurt Locker’ tops Gotham Awards

Catalina Saavedra wins breakthrough actor kudo

“The Hurt Locker” emerged as the big winner at Monday’s Gotham Independent Film Awards at New York’s Cipriani Wall Street.

Though it didn’t sweep the Gothams, Summit’s actioner picked up prizes for feature — the night’s top prize — as well as for ensemble cast.

Feature prize went to producer-helmer Kathryn Bigelow, producer-scribe Mark Boal, and producers Nicolas Chartier and Greg Shapiro.

Cast trophy went to Jeremy Renner, Anthony Mackie, Brian Geraghty, Ralph Fiennes, Guy Pearce, David Morse and Evangeline Lilly.

“Locker” missed out on its third nom, the breakthrough actor kudo, which went to Catalina Saavedra for Chilean-set “The Maid.” Pic, helmed by Gotham-based Sebastian Silva, bowed in Sundance’s World Cinema section in January and was released by Elephant Eye Films Stateside. Renner was also nommed in the category.

Robert Kenner’s “Food, Inc.,” Magnolia Pictures’ nonfiction hit, took the documentary prize. Elise Pearlstein produced.

The breakthrough director kudo went to Robert Siegel for his debut “Big Fan.” Siegel also penned 2008’s “The Wrestler.”

Ry Russo-Young’s “You Won’t Miss Me” took the Best Film Not Playing at a Theater Near You award, which comes with a $5,000 cash prize.

Winners in each category were selected by selected industryites including actors William H. Macy and Ellen Burstyn; helmers Julie Taymor, William Friedkin and Marc Forster; cinematographer Matthew Libatique; producer Wendy Finerman; and musician-composer Stewart Copeland.

In addition to the six competitive kudos, career tributes were presented to actors Natalie Portman and Stanley Tucci, Bigelow and producers Tim Bevan and Eric Fellner.

The show, hosted by rising comedian Kumail Nanjiani, was streamed live via Ustream.com.