EFA names Discovery nominees

Award will be announced Dec. 12 in Bochum

BERLIN — The European Film Academy nominated five pics on Tuesday for its European Discovery award, which is aimed at frosh feature directors.

Award will be announced Dec. 12 at the 22nd European Film Awards ceremony in the German city of Bochum.

The nominations were announced at the Zurich Film Festival, providing a brief respite from the controversy over the arrest of Roman Polanski at Zurich Airport just before he was due to receive the festival’s lifetime achievement award on Sunday.

A panel of EFA board members and film critics meeting in Zurich nominated the following films:

“Ajami,” Germany/Israel (written and directed by Scandar Copti and Yaron Shani, produced by Mosh Danon, Thanassis Karathanos and Talia Kleinhendler)

“Gagma Napiri” (The Other Bank), Georgia/Kazakhstan (directed by George Ovashvili, written by Nugzar Shataidze, produced by George Ohashvili and Sain Gabdullin)

“Katalin Varga,” Romania/U.K./Hungary (written and directed by Peter Strickland, produced by Tudor Giurgiu, Oana Giurgiu and Peter Strickland)

“Sois Sage” (Be Good), France/Denmark (written and directed by Juliette Garcias, produced by Marianne Slot)

“Sonbahar” (Autumn), Turkey/Germany (written and directed by Ozcan Alper, produced by F. Serkan Acar and Kadir Sozen)

The films will now be made available to all 2,000 EFA members, EFA said.

They were nominated by a committee of six: EFA board members Pawel Pawlikowski (U.K.), Els Vandevorst (The Netherlands) and Pierre-Henri Deleau (France); Jacob Neiiendam, director of the film festival Cph:Pix in Denmark; and film journalists Dana Linssen of the Netherlands and Alin Taciyan of Turkey — both of members of the international critics body, Fipresci.