The 12-year-old Jonathan Larson Grants, which honor promising musical theater creatives, will now be administered by the American Theater Wing.

Award was previously presented by the Jonathan Larson Performing Arts Foundation, established in memory of Larson, the late composer of “Rent.” The foundation, topped by prexy Allan Larson, and the Larson family have endowed the ATW with funds earmarked for sustaining the grants.

Each year the Larson awards honor five or so individuals or composer-lyricist teams. Amount of each grant is determined on a winner-by-winner basis.

Grants formerly took the financial need of the applicants into account, but under the auspices of the ATW, only the merit of the work will be considered. Spring awards ceremony next year will be opened to the broader theater community.

Prior winners of the Larson grant include Michael Korie (“Grey Gardens”), Nell Benjamin (“Legally Blonde”) and John Bucchino (“A Catered Affair”).

The ATW, run by chairman Ted Chapin and exec director Howard Sherman, co-presents the Tony Awards and maintains an array of legit development and education programs.

Application deadline for the 2009 Larson grants is Nov. 1.