MONTREAL — Two American movies with Canuck connections won big at the ninth Canadian Comedy Awards, which were doled out at a ceremony in Regina on Friday night.

Montreal-born helmer Jason Reitman won the Beaver, which is what they call their statuettes, for direction for “Juno” and that film’s star, Halifax thesp Ellen Page, won actress honors.

Brampton, Ontario-born Michael Cera, who also stars in “Juno,” won best actor for his starring role in “Superbad.”

Vancouver-born thesp/writer Seth Rogen won a scribe award for “Superbad” and was voted Pretty Funny Comic Person of the Year by the public.

The awards ceremony took place as part of a five-day festival and celebration of comedy that included more than 100 comics performing in 14 shows in the Saskatchewan city.

Canadian TV comic Gerry Dee won awards for stand-up male comic and TV taped live performance.

Gavin Crawford won Beavers for writing for a special or episode for hit satirical CBC show “This Hour Has 22 Minutes,” and another for male TV performance.

Russell Peters won large venue comic of the year; Nikki Payne won stand-up female comic; Peter Anthony won stand-up newcomer; Dan Joffre won male improviser; and Aurora Browne took the honors as female improviser.

Samir Rehem won direction of a special or episode for “Cock’d Guns”; and Henry Sarwer-Foner won series direction for “The Rick Mercer Report.”

The awards ceremony will be broadcast next March on Canada’s The Comedy Network.