Berlin Fest completes lineup

Natalie Portman's 'Girl' added to main section

The Berlin Film Festival has completed the lineup for its main section with the addition of three out-of-competition and five competish titles.

The latest entries include the world preem of Justin Chadwyck’s historical drama “The Other Boleyn Girl,” which screens out of competition. The Scott Rudin Prods., Ruby Films and BBC Films pic stars Natalie Portman, Scarlett Johansson and Eric Bana.

Dennis Lee’s family drama “Fireflies in the Garden,” another world preem, also screens out of competition. Pic stars Julia Roberts, Ryan Reynolds, Willem Dafoe and Emily Watson; Germany’s Senator Entertainment produced.

The fest’s closing feature, also screening out of competition, will be Michel Gondry’s comedy “Be Kind Rewind.” Pic, which unspools first at Sundance, stars Jack Black and Mos Def.

Fest has selected three world preems to compete for the Golden Bear: Korea helmer Hong Sang-soo’s “Bam gua nat” (Night and Day); French-German pic “Il y a longtemps que je t’aime” (I’ve Loved You So Long), helmed by Philippe Claudel and starring Kristin Scott Thomas; and the Iranian pic “Avaze gonjeshk-ha” (The Song of Sparrows), helmed by Majid Majidi.

The other new competition titles are U.S. pic “Ballast,” helmed by Lance Hammer, who attended the Berlinale Talent Campus in 2004; and Petri Kotwica’s Finnish-German co-production “Musta jaa” (Black Ice).

The festival has also unveiled 11 pics for its Berlinale Special sidebar.

In the lineup are the world preem of Amos Gitai’s “Plus tard tu comprendras” and Neil Young’s docu “CSNY Deja Vu.”

Guests presenting their films in the section include Bollywood star Shah Rukh Khan, who will attend the screening of “Om shanti om,” as well as give a lecture at the Berlinale Talent Campus.


“Shine a Light,” Martin Scorsese (U.S.) (out of competition). Featuring the Rolling Stones

“Feuerherz” (Heart of Fire), Luigi Falorni (Germany/Italy/Austria) with Letekidan Micael

“Julia,” Erick Zonca (France) with Tilda Swinton, Aidan Gould and Saul Rubinek

“Lady Jane,” Robert Guediguian (France) with Ariane Ascaride, Gerard Meylan and Frederique Bonnal

“Caos calmo” (Quiet Chaos), Antonello Grimaldi (Italy) with Nanni Moretti, Isabella Ferrari, Alessandro Gassman and Valeria Golino

“Happy-Go-Lucky,” Mike Leigh (U.K.) with Sally Hawkins, Alexis Zegerman, Eddie Marsan and Samuel Roukin

“Restless,” Amos Kollek (Israel/Germany/Canada/France/Belgium) with Moshe Ivgy, Ran Danker, Karen Young and Phyllis Sommerville

“Elegy,” Isabel Coixet (U.S.) with Penelope Cruz, Ben Kingsley and Dennis Hopper

“Sparrow,” Johnnie To (Hong Kong, China) with Simon Yam Tat Wah, Kelly Lin Hsi Lei, Gordon Lam Ka Tung and Lam Suet

“Kabei” (Our Mother), Yoji Yamada (Japan) with Sayuri Yoshinaga, Mitsugoro Bando and Tadanobu Asano

“Ballast,” Lance Hammer (U.S.) with Micheal J. Smith, Jim Myron Ross and Tarra Riggs

“Bam gua nat” (Night and Day), Hong Sangsoo, (South Korea) with Kim Youngho, Park Eunhye and Hwang Soojung

“Fireflies in the Garden,” Dennis Lee (U.S.) (out of competition) with Julia Roberts, Ryan Reynolds, Willem Dafoe and Emily Watson

“Il y a longtemps que je t’aime” (I’ve Loved You So Long), Philippe Claudel (France/Germany) with Kristin Scott Thomas, Elsa Zylberstein, Serge Hazanavicius and Laurent Grevill

“Musta jaa” (Black Ice), Petri Kotwica (Finland/Germany) with Outi Maenpaa, Ria Kataja, Martti Suosala and Ville Virtanen

“The Other Boleyn Girl,” Justin Chadwick (U.S./U.K.) (out of competition) with Natalie Portman, Scarlett Johansson and Eric Bana

“Avaze gonjeshk-ha” (The Song of Sparrows), Majid Majidi (Iran) with Reza Najie, Maryam Akbari, Kamran Dehghan and Hossein Aghazi

“Kirschblueten – Hanami” (Cherry Blossoms – Hanami), Doris Doerrie (Germany) with Elmar Wepper and Hannelore Elsner

“There Will Be Blood,” Paul Thomas Anderson (U.S.) with Daniel Day-Lewis

“Zuo you” (In Love We Trust), Wang Xiaoshuai (China) with Liu Weiwei, Zhang Jiayu and Yu Nan

“Lake Tahoe,” Fernando Eimbcke (Mexico) with Diego Catano, Hector Herrera, Daniela Valentine, Juan Carlos Lara and Yemil Sefani

“Gardens of the Night,” Damian Harris (U.K./U.S.) with Gillian Jacobs, Evan Ross, Tom Arnold and John Malkovich

“Katyn,” Andrzej Wajda (Poland) with Maja Ostaszewska, Artur Zmijewski and Andrzej Chyra

“Tropa de elite” (The Elite Squad), Jose Padilhahas (Brazil) with Wagner Moura, Caio Junqueira and Andre Ramiro

“S.O.P. Standard Operating Procedure,” Errol Morris (U.S.)

“Be Kind Rewind,” Michel Gondry (U.S.) (out of competition) with Jack Black, Mos Def, Danny Glover, Mia Farrow and Melonie Diaz


“1000 Journals,” Andrea Kreuzhage (U.S.)

“Auge in auge – eine Deutsche filmgeschichte” (Eye to Eye – All About German Film …), Hans Helmut Prinzler, Michael Althen (Germany) (world premiere)

“CSNY Deja vu,” Bernard Shakey a.k.a. Neil Young (U.S.)

“El pollo, el pez y el cangrejo real” (The Chicken, the Fish and the King Crab), Jose Luis Lopez Linares (Spain) (world premiere)

“Himlens hjarta” (Heaven’s Heart), Simon Staho (Sweden/Denmark) (world premiere) with Mikael Persbrandt, Lena Endre, Jakob Eklund and Maria Lundquist

“Nerakhoon” (Betrayal), Ellen Kuras and Thavisouk Phrasavath (U.S.)

“Om shanti om,” Farah Khan (India/U.K.) with Shah Rukh Khan, Deepika Padukone and Shreyas Talpade

“Plus tard tu comprendras,” Amos Gitai (France/Germany) (world premiere) with Jeanne Moreau, Dominique Blanc and Hippolite Girardot

“Steal a Pencil for Me,” Michele Ohayon (U.S.) with Jean-Pierre Gillian, Jack Polak and Ina Soep

“Trip to Asia. Die suche nach dem einklang” (Trip to Asia. The Quest for Harmony), Thomas Grube (Germany) (world premiere) featuring Simon Rattle and the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra

“Wine and Cupcakes,” Bruce Weber (U.S.)