UCLA dominates Goldwyn finalists

Gilmore, Liebling, Matlin to judge screenplays

The Samuel Goldwyn Foundation has named the finalists for its 2008 Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards Competition, to be held Nov. 3 at UCLA.

Feature-length screenplays were submitted from eight U. of California campuses, but each of the five finalists announced by foundation prexy Samuel Goldwyn Jr. on Monday is from UCLA. The finalists are Suzie Bohannon, Austin Formato, JJ Nelson, Robyn Paris and Richard Rapoza.

Winners will be selected by Geoff Gilmore, director of the Sundance Film Festival; Debbie Liebling, prexy of production at Fox Atomic; and thesp-producer Marlee Matlin.

Samuel Goldwyn Sr. started the awards in 1955 for young film, stage and television writers. Winners will be awarded more than $25,000 in cash prizes.