Hollywood festival hands out laurels

Honorees include Franco, Hawkins, Shanley

James Franco, Sally Hawkins, John Patrick Shanley and Dustin Lance Black will receive Breakthrough awards at the 12th annual Hollywood Film Festival.

The quartet will be honored as breakthrough actor, actress, director and writer, respectively.

Franco will turn up next in Gus Van Sant’s “Milk,” which Black wrote; Hawkins has the lead in Mike Leigh’s “Happy-Go-Lucky”; and Shanley directs the upcoming “Doubt.”

“Wall-E” and director Andrew Stanton draws the Hollywood Animation award. “Iron Man” will receive the visual effects nod for f/x supervisors John Nelson and Ben Snow.

Co-chaired by Paul Haggis, the Hollywood Awards will take place at the Beverly Hilton Hotel on Oct. 27.