BERLIN — The European Film Academy will honor Judi Dench and the founders of the Dogma movement, Danish filmmakers Soren Kragh-Jacobsen, Kristian Levring, Lars von Trier and Thomas Vinterberg, at the upcoming European Film Awards in Copenhagen.

The academy is presenting Dench with the Lifetime Achievement Award for her body of work. Dench rose to international fame, after already being established as a successful theater and TV actress, with roles that included a BAFTA-winning performance in John Madden’s “Mrs. Brown” (1997), Lasse Hallstrom’s “Chocolat” (2000), Richard Eyre’s 2001 drama “Iris,” which earned her another BAFTA, and in Eyre’s 2006 drama “Notes on a Scandal,” as well as the last five installments of the James Bond franchise.

Also paying tribute to the filmmakers who created Dogma, the academy said the movement, which was born in Denmark in the mid-1990s, had changed they way people look at film.

“In recognition of a unique impulse to the world of film and honoring their dedication to European filmmaking, the European Film Academy will present Soren Kragh-Jacobsen, Kristian Levring, Lars von Trier, and Thomas Vinterberg with the award European Achievement in World Cinema 2008.”

The 21st European Film Awards ceremony will take place on Dec. 6 in Copenhagen.