With 11 nominations, helmer Oliver Dahan’s “La Vie en rose” led the field at France’s top kudofest, the Cesars, which take place next month.

Noms for the Edith Piaf biopic include best picture, director, lead actress for Marion Cotillard (who also earned an Oscar actress nom), supporting actress for Sylvie Testud and screenplay.

Julian Schnabel’s “The Diving Bell and the Butterfly” earned five nominations including for picture, director, lead actor and adapted screenplay for Ronald Harwood (who also earned an Oscar nom).

Earlier this month, “Bell” won best picture at the Prix Lumieres, Gaul’s equivalent of the Golden Globes, while Schnabel, who earned an Oscar nom, edged out the Coens to win director at the Golden Globes. He also won the director prize at Cannes last May.

Popular on Variety

The best pic nominations are rounded out by “Persepolis,” Marjane Satrapi and Vincent Parannaud’s toon feature, which shared a Cannes jury prize last year and earned an Oscar animation nomination; Tunisian helmer Abdellatif Kechiche’s “The Secret of the Grain,” which took the special jury nod at Venice; and Claude Miller’s “A Secret.”

The range of picture noms — in directors’ origins, subject and styles — bears tribute to the inclusive cosmopolitan spirit of French filmmaking.

Schnabel, Dahan, Kechiche, Miller and Andre Techine, for “The Witnesses,” face off for director prize.

Satrapi and Parannaud also earned a nomination for best first film along with Anne le Ny for “Those Who Remain,” Lola Doillon for “Et toi t’es sur qui?,” Celine Sciamma for “Naissance des pieuvres” and Mia Hansen-Love for “Tout est pardonne.”

In the lead actor category, “Bell” star Mathieu Almaric competes against Michel Blanc of “The Witnesses”; Jean-Pierre Darroussin, “Conversations With My Gardener”; Vincent Lindon, “Those Who Remain”; and Jean-Pierre Marielle, “Let’s Dance!”

Cotillard’s fellow nominees in the lead actress category are Isabelle Carre, “Anna M.”; Cecile de France, “A Secret”; Marina Fois, “Darling”; and Catherine Frot, “Odette toulemonde.”

France’s 33rd Cesar Awards take place Feb. 22 in Paris.

“The Secret of the Grain,” dir. Abdellatif Kechiche, prod. Claude Berri
“La Vie en rose,” dir. Olivier Dahan, prod. Alain Goldman
“Persepolis,” dir. Marjane Satrapi and Vincent Paronnaud, prod. Marc-Antoine Robert and Xavier Rigault
“The Diving Bell and the Butterfly,” dir. Julian Schnabel, prod. Jerome Seydoux
“A Secret,” dir. Claude Miller, prod. Yves Marmion

Olivier Dahan, “La Vie en rose”
Abdellatif Kechiche, “The Secret of the Grain”
Claude Miller, “A Secret”
Julian Schnabel, “The Diving Bell and the Butterfly”
Andre Techine, “The Witnesses”

Mathieu Amalric, “The Diving Bell and the Butterfly”
Michel Blanc, “The Witnesses”
Jean-Pierre Darroussin, “Conversations with My Gardener”
Vincent Lindon, “Those Who Remain”
Jean-Pierre Marielle, “Let’s Dance!”

Isabelle Carre, “Anna M.”
Marion Cotillard, “La Vie en rose”
Cecile de France, “A Secret”
Marina Fois, “Darling”
Catherine Frot, “Odette Toulemonde”

Sami Bouajila, “The Witnesses”
Pascal Greggory, “La Vie en rose”
Michael Lonsdale, “Heartbeat Detector”
Fabrice Luchini, “Moliere”
Laurent Stocker, “Hunting and Gathering”

Julie Depardieu, “A Secret”
Noemie Lvovsky, “Actresses”
Bulle Ogier, “Let’s Dance!”
Ludivine Sagnier, “A Secret”
Sylvie Testud, “La Vie en rose”

Nicolas Cazale, “Le fils de l’epicier”
Gregoire Leprince-Ringuet, “Love Songs”
Johan Libereau, “The Witnesses”
Jocelyn Quivrin, “99 F”
Laurent Stocker, “Hunting and Gathering”

Louise Blachere, “Naissance des pieuvres”
Audrey Dana, “Roman de gare”
Adele Haenel, “Naissance des pieuvres”
Hafsia Herzi, “The Secret of the Grain”
Clotilde Hesme, “Love Songs”

“Those Who Remain,” Anne le Ny
“Et toi t’es sur qui?,” Lola Doillon
“Naissance des pieuvres,” Celine Sciamma
“Persepolis,” Marjane Satrapi, Vincent Paronnaud
“Tout est pardonne,” Mia Hansen-Love

Olivier Dahan, “La Vie en rose”
Julie Delpy, “2 days in Paris”
Abdellatif Kechiche, “The Secret of the Grain”
Anne le Ny, “Those Who Remain”
Laurent Tirard, Gregoire Vigneron, “Moliere”

Claude Berri, “Hunting and Gathering”
Christine Carriere, “Darling”
Ronald Harwood, “The Diving Bell and the Butterfly”
Claude Miller, Nathalie Carter, “A Secret”
Marjane Satrapi, Vincent Paronnaud, “Persepolis”

Antoine Deflandre, Germain Boulay, Eric Tisserand, “Intimate Enemies”
Guillaume Le Braz, Valerie Deloof, Agnes Ravez, Thierry Delor, “Love Songs”
Thierry Lebon, Eric Chevallier, Samy Bardet, “Persepolis”
Jean-Paul Mugel, Francis Wargnier, Dominique Gaborieau, “The Diving Bell and the Butterfly”
Laurent Zeilig, Pascal Villard, Jean-Paul Hurier, “La Vie en rose”

Alex Beaupain, “Love Songs”
Olivier Bernet, “Persepolis”
Alexandre Desplat, “Intimate Enemies”
Zbigniew Preisner, “A Secret”
Archie Shepp, “Let’s Dance!”

Yves Angelo, “Le deuxieme souffle”
Gerard de Battista, “A Secret”
Giovanni Fiore Coltellacci, “Intimate Enemies”
Janusz Kaminski, “The Diving Bell and the Butterfly”
Tetsuo Nagata, “La Vie en rose”

Francoise Dupertuis, “Moliere”
Thierry Flamand, “Le deuxieme souffle”
Jean-Pierre Kohut Svelko, “A Secret”
Christian Marti, “Jacquou le croquant”
Olivier Raoux, “La Vie en rose”

Marit Allen, “La Vie en rose”
Jacqueline Bouchard, “A Secret”
Corinne Jorry, “Le deuxieme souffle”
Pierre-Jean Larroque, “Moliere”
Jean-Daniel Vuillermoz, “Jacquou le croquant”

Ghalya Lacroix, Camille Toubkis, “The Secret of the Grain”
Veronique Lange, “A Secret”
Richard Marizy, Yves Beloniak, “La Vie en rose”
Stephane Roche, “Persepolis”
Juliette Welfling, “The Diving Bell and the Butterfly”

“Le Mozart des pickpockets”
“Premier voyage”
“La promenade”

“4 mois, 3 semaines et 2 jours”
“The Edge of Heaven”
“We Own the Night”
“Eastern Promises”
“The Lives of Others”

“Animals in Love,” Laurent Charbonnier
“L’avocat de la terreur,” Barbet Schroeder
“Les Lip, l’imagination au pouvoir,” Christian Rouaud
“Le premier cri,” Gilles de Maistre
“Retour en Normandie,” Nicolas Philibert