Anna Karina to head Pusan jury

French actress to rule on New Current Award

SEOUL — French actress Anna Karina has been announced as head of the jury of the Pusan Intl. Film Festival’s New Current Award.

The star of “Alphaville” and “Bande a part” will be joined by German producer Karl Baumgartner, Korean actress Lee Hwa-si and the Iranian director Samira Makhmalbaf. India’s Santosh Sivan rounds off the jury for the PIFF’s only competitive feature film prize.

The festival’s Wide Angle award for documentaries will be judged by Ahn Jung-sook, formerly of the Korean Film Council, together with Jean-Pierre Rehm of FIDMarseille and the Beijing Film Academy’s Zhang Xian-min.

The jury for the Sonje short film prize is made up of Korean producer Kimjho Gwangsoo, Clermont-Ferrand Short Film Festival director Roger Gonin and Calida Uabumrungjit of the Thai Film Foundation.