You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

‘Ratatouille’ nearly sweeps Annies

Pixar film wins 11 times at animation Awards

“Ratatouille” ranked tops with Hollywood’s animation community, taking home nine trophies – including best animated feature – Friday night at the 35th annual Annie Awards.

Pic can also boast wins for short subject for its DVD extra “Your Friend the Rat” and for the “Ratatouille” vidgame.

In a near-sweep, Pixar’s popular “anyone can cook” parable shut out every bigscreen contender except Sony Pictures Animation’s “Surf’s Up,” which scored two individual achievement awards, while Oscar nominee “Persepolis” went home empty-handed.

Before presenting one of “Ratatouille’s” many trophies, actor James Hong (Mr. Ping in DreamWorks’ forthcoming “Kung Fu Panda”) reminded the crowd that the Chinese New Year kicked off a day earlier. “This is the Year of the Rat, so that’s why you are winning all the awards,” he mused. “We are psychic, you know.”

The coup marks a major improvement over Pixar’s performance the year before, where “Cars” earned only two awards. Among “Ratatouille’s” more prominent individual honorees were Brad Bird (writing, directing), Michael Giacchino (music) and Ian Holm (who voiced the pint-sized chef, Skinner).

Television prizes were more evenly distributed, with top honors going to Aardman Animation’s short-lived “Creature Comforts America.” The stop-motion skein, based on the shop’s Oscar-winning short, was canceled by CBS after just three episodes due to low ratings.

Another stop-motion contender, Cartoon Network’s “Robot Chicken,” nabbed prizes for direction (acknowledging Seth Green’s work on the show’s “Star Wars” special) and its distinctive, deliberately crude character animation.

In the 2-D realm, Nickelodeon’s new skein “El Tigre” snagged character design and children’s programming honors. “Family Guy” earned a storyboarding trophy, while “The Simpsons,” always a favorite with the Annies, took writing and music honors.

Accepting the home entertainment award, “Futurama: Bender’s Big Score” producers Matt Groening and David X. Cohen carried WGA strike signs with them to the podium. “We were planning on barricading the stage, but in light of certain events, we’re prepared to grant (the Annies) a waiver for just one category,” Cohen joked.

Host Tom Kenny acknowledged the strike concerns of many in the crowd, quipping, “How are TV animation writers and salad plates alike? They’re both the first thing taken off the table.”

Without a proper guild to celebrate achievements in animation, practioners of the craft see the Annies as the nearest thing to an insider prize, awarded each year by the toon pros and enthusiasts of ASIFA-Hollywood. As such, the org’s love for “Ratatouille” is a strong barometer of Academy sentiment, especially considering that the Annies have predicted Oscar animated feature winners with near-perfect accuracy, flubbing differing only once since the category was created.

And the winners are…


Animated Feature

“Ratatouille,” Pixar Animation Studios

Home Entertainment Production

“Futurama: Bender’s Big Score,” The Curiosity Company in association with 20th Century Fox Television

Animated Short Subject

“Your Friend the Rat,” Pixar Animation Studios

Animated Television Commercial

“Power Shares Escape Average,” Acme Filmworks

Animated Television Production

“Creature Comforts America,” Aardman Animations

Animated Television Production for Children

“El Tigre,” Nickelodeon

Animated Video Game

“Ratatouille,” THQ, Inc.


Animated Effects

Deborah Carlson, “Surf’s Up”

Animation Production Artist

John Clark, “Surf’s Up”

Character Animation in a Feature Production

Michal Makarewicz, “Ratatouille,” Pixar Animation Studios

Character Animation in a Television Production

Eric Towner, “Robot Chicken,” ShadowMachine

Character Design in an Animated Feature Production

Carter Goodrich, “Ratatouille,” Pixar Animation Studios

Character Design in an Animated Television Production

Jorge R. Gutierrez, “El Tigre” (“Fistful of Collars”)

Directing in an Animated Feature Production

Brad Bird, “Ratatouille”

Directing in an Animated Television Production

Seth Green, “Robot Chicken Star Wars”

Music in an Animated Feature Production

Michael Giacchino, “Ratatouille”

Music in an Animated Television Production

Alf Clausen & Michael Price, “The Simpsons” (“Yokel Chords”)

Production Design in an Animated Feature Production

Harley Jessup, “Ratatouille”

Storyboarding in an Animated Feature Production

Ted Mathot, “Ratatouille,” Pixar Animation Studios

Storyboarding in an Animated Television Production

Steve Fonti, “Family Guy” (“No Chris Left Behind”)

Voice Acting in an Animated Feature Production

Ian Holm, Voice of Skinner, “Ratatouille”

Voice Acting in an Animated Television Production

Eartha Kitt, Voice of Yzma, “The Emperor’s New School” (“Emperor’s New Musical”)

Writing in an Animated Feature Production

Brad Bird, “Ratatouille,” Pixar Animation Studios

Writing in an Animated Television Production

Ian Maxtone-Graham & Billy Kimball, “The Simpsons” (“24 Minutes”), Gracie Films

More Film

  • Aquaman 2018

    'Aquaman' Crosses $250 Million at Foreign Box Office

    Things are going swimmingly at the box office for “Aquaman” as the Warner Bros.’ superhero flick hits another major milestone overseas. James Wan’s take on the ruler of the seven seas just passed $250 million internationally, and a weekend haul of $126.4 million from 43 territories brings its foreign tally to $261.3 million. “Aquaman” — [...]

  • Mortal Engines

    'Mortal Engines' to Lose More Than $100 Million at Box Office

    “Mortal Engines,” a steampunk fantasy adventure, is also an epic flop. With a budget of just over $100 million and tens of millions in global marketing costs, executives at rival studios estimate that the movie will lose upwards of $100 million. Some even project that number could float to more than $125 million. “Mortal Engines” [...]

  • Thierry Frémaux, José Luis Rebordinos Honored

    Thierry Frémaux, José Luis Rebordinos Named Honorary Argentine Academy Members

    BUENOS AIRES — In a ceremony just before Friday’s prize announcements at Ventana Sur, Cannes chief Thierry Frémaux and José Luis Rebordinos, director of the San Sebastian Festival, were named honorary members of Argentina’s Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, in a new move for the Academy, out through by its new president, Bernardo [...]

  • Nona

    Film Review: 'Nona'

    Twenty years and 12 features down the line, it’s still hard to peg the directorial sensibility of Michael Polish, with or without the presence of brother Mark as frequent co-writer and actor. His output has been all over the place, from early Lynchian quirkfests to the very middle-of-the-road inspirational dramedy “The Astronaut Farmer,” not to [...]

  • Pawel Pawlikowski "Cold War"

    Pawel Pawlikowski's 'Cold War' Wins for Best Film, Director at European Film Awards

    “Cold War,” Pawel Pawlikowski’s black-and-white romance set in the 1950s, scooped the prizes for best film, director and screenplay at the 31st edition of the European Film Awards on Saturday. “Cold War” star Joanna Kulig also won the award for best actress. Marcello Fonte, the star of Matteo Garrone’s “Dogman,” won for best actor. Armando Iannucci’s [...]

  • The Favourite Bohemian Rapsody Star is

    The Best Movie Scenes of 2018

    When we think back on a movie that transported us, we often focus on a great scene — or maybe the greatest scene — in it. It’s natural. Those scenes are more than just defining. They can be the moment that lifts a movie into the stratosphere, that takes it to the higher reaches of [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content