Angelus Festival taps winners

Student film honors to be presented Oct. 27

The 12th annual edition of the Angelus Student Film Festival bestowed its Patrick Peyton Excellence in Filmmaking Award on Chapman U.’s Nicholas Ozeki on Tuesday. Fest’s highest honor includes a cash prize of $10,000.

A total of seven awards and $50,000 in cash and industry prizes will be presented in a ceremony at the Directors Guild of America on Oct. 27.

The winners were chosen from more than 400 entries representing 22 countries.

The winners are:

The 2007 Angelus Student Film Festival winners

The $10,000 Patrick Peyton Excellence in Filmmaking Award: ”Mamitas,” Nicholas Ozeki, Chapman University, Dodge College of Film and Media Arts

  • The $5,000 Priddy Bros. Triumph Award: “Little Gorilla,” Harry Kellerman, Columbia University
  • The $2,500 Fujifilm Audience Impact Award: “Deacon’s Mondays,” Lowell Frank and Destin Daniel Cretton, San Diego State University
  • The $2,500 Mole-Richardson Production Excellence Award: “In Between,” José E. Iglesias Vigil, Polish National Film School, Lodz, Poland
  • The $1,500 Act One Screenplay prize: “The Kolaborator,” written by Chris Bessounian, Los Angeles Film Schoolv
  • The $3,000 Outstanding Documentary Award, sponsored by Maryknoll Productions: “La Quinceanera,” Adam Taub, University of Colorado, Boulder
  • The $2,500 Outstanding Animation Award, sponsored by the Catholic Academy for Communication Arts Professionals: “The Needful Head” Zeth Willie, New York University

    Honorable Mentions

    • Production Design: “Still Life,” Mahesh Pailoor, American Film Institute
    • Documentary: “Bullet Proof Vest,” May Lin Au Yong, Stanford University, Palo Alto, CA
    • Animation: ”Fission,” Kun-I Chung, School of Visual Arts, New York.

    Angelus Showcase Selections

    Live action:Monsoon,” Shyam Bals, University of Southern California

  • Animation: “Screen,” Edmund Earle, Rhode Island School of Design