Editors pick ‘Babel,’ ‘Departed’

'Office,' 'Wire' win at ACE Eddie Awards

“Babel” editors Stephen Mirrione and Douglas Crise tied with “The Departed” editor Thelma Schoonmaker for dramatic feature film at Sunday’s ACE Eddie Awards, held at the BevHilton.

Virginia Katz took the nod for comedy/musical for “Dreamgirls.”

The docu nod went to Jay Cassidy and Dan Swietlik for “An Inconvenient Truth.”

On the TV front, “The Office” editors Dean Holland and David Rogers took home the prize for half-hour series.

Conrad Gonzalez, Keith Henderson, and Stephen Michael drew kudos for “Prime Suspect 7” in the miniseries for non-commercial television category, while Kate Sanford won the prize for one-hour series for non-commercial television for “The Wire.”

Geoffrey Rowland, Eric Sears, Bryan Horne, David Handman and Mitchell Danton won the Eddie for miniseries or motion picture for commercial television for “The Path to 9/11 (Part II).”

The Eddie for student editing went to Alex Lamb from Chapman U.

Quentin Tarantino was feted with the night’s Golden Eddie for filmmaker of the year. The prize was presented by Daryl Hannah.

In his acceptance speech, Tarantino declared, “The best collaborations are the director-editor teams, where they can finish each other’s sentences.” He acknowledged his own editor, Sally Menke, as his “only, truly genuine collaborator.”

John Soh and Frank J. Urioste both collected career achievement awards.

More than 1,000 people attended the evening’s festivities, which were hosted by comedian Julia Sweeney.