You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Art Directors pick 15 films

Winners will be announced Feb. 17

The Art Directors Guild has selected 15 nominees in the period, fantasy and contempo categories, marking the first separate awards for the first two.

Winners will be announced Feb. 17 at the BevHilton, with Steven Weber hosting.

Nominees in the period category are Huo Tingxao for “Curse of the Golden Flower,” John Myhre for “Dreamgirls,” the late Henry Bumstead for “Flags of Our Fathers,” Jeannine Oppewall for “The Good Shepherd” and Nathan Crowley for “The Prestige.”

Myhre won the ADG award last year for period/fantasy for “Memoirs of a Geisha” and went on to win the Oscar. He also received a nomination in TV for “Tony Bennett: An American Classic.”

Fantasy noms went to Jim Clay and Geoffrey Kirkland for “Children of Men,” Eugenio Caballero for “Pan’s Labyrinth,” Rick Heinrichs for “Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest,” Guy Hendrix Dyas for “Superman Returns” and Owen Paterson for “V for Vendetta.”

Popular on Variety

Contemporary nods went to Brigitte Broch for “Babel,” Peter Lamont for “Casino Royale,” Allan Cameron for “The Da Vinci Code,” Kristi Zea for “The Departed” and Alan MacDonald for “The Queen.” David Bomba won the category last year for “Walk the Line.”

Single-camera TV series noms went to Joseph Hodges for “24,” Maria Caso for “Deadwood,” Ruth Ammon for “Heroes,” Carlos Barbosa for the pilot of “Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip” and Mark Worthington for “Ugly Betty.”

Multi-camera nods went to Glenda Rovello for the pilot of “The Class,” Stephan Olson for “How I Met Your Mother,” John Sabato for “Mad TV,” Cabot McMullen for “The New Adventures of Old Christine” and John Shaffner for “Two and a Half Men.”

Nominees for telepic/miniseries: Philip Dagort for “Stephen King’s Desperation,” Keith Neely for “The Lost Room” and Edward L. Rubin for “Return to Halloweentown.”

In variety/awards/music special or documentary, nods went to Myhre for “Tony Bennett,” Shaffner and Joe Stewart for “The 58th Annual Emmy Awards,” Bruce Ryan for “Comic Relief 2006” and John Janavs for “Hell’s Kitchen” and “Unanimous.”

More Scene


    Donna Karan, Mary-Louise Parker Honored at David Lynch Foundation's Women of Vision Awards

    Donna Karan, Mary-Louise Parker and Deborra-Lee Furness were celebrated for their charitable work at the David Lynch Foundation’s 2019 Women of Vision Awards. “We are all being guided to come together as one. There is so much chaos in the world right now,” Karan said, while accepting her Lifetime Achievement Award at the annual luncheon on [...]

  • Bill Hader

    Bill Hader, Greg Berlanti, Margie Cohn and Cindy Holland Inducted Into Variety Hall of Fame

    Variety’s annual Hall of Fame ceremony mixed comedy, gratitude and warmth at the annual awards ceremony Tuesday night at the Four Seasons Hotel in Beverly Hills. Because the class of 2019 celebrates technical innovation and achievement across film, TV, digital, video games and music. The honorees — Greg Berlanti, Bill Hader, Cindy Holland, Dametra Johnson-Marletti, [...]

  • Billy Porter FNAA

    Billy Porter Explains Why Fashion 'Can and Should' Be Activism

    On Tuesday in New York City, a handful of fashion’s marquee names, including Kenneth Cole, Tommy Hilfiger, Steve Madden and Pete Nordstrom, and many of its muses, including Billy Porter, Lena Waithe, Adriana Lima and Paris Hilton, gathered to celebrate the annual Footwear News Achievement Awards — or, as it’s more colloquially dubbed, the “Shoe Oscars.” Activism and the potential for designers to spur [...]

  • Tiffany Haddish Black Mitzvah

    Barbra Streisand Gives Tiffany Haddish Star of David Necklace for Her 'Black Mitzvah'

    Tiffany Haddish rang in her 40th birthday Tuesday night by celebrating her black and Jewish heritage with a star-studded “Black Mitzvah” party. One of Haddish’s famous friends, Barbra Streisand, was noticeably absent from the festivities, but sent the comedian a special memento for the occasion. “She got me this beautiful Star of David,” Haddish told [...]

  • Kasi Lemmons

    'Harriet' Director Kasi Lemmons Weighs In on Julia Roberts Casting Controversy

    Eddie Murphy, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Nia Long and “Harriet” filmmaker Kasi Lemmons were honored for their contributions to the industry Monday night at the inaugural celebration of black cinema by the Critics Choice Association. And as the event, held at the Landmark Annex in Los Angeles, looked back on how far people of color have come [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content