The Dramatists Guild will announce the winner of the 2005 Hull-Warriner Award, presented by guild members for a theatrical work, at its gala April 10.

Finalists are William Finn and Rachel Sheinkin for “The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee,” Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty for “Dessa Rose,” Adam Guettel and Craig Lucas for “The Light in the Piazza,” Christopher Durang for “Miss Witherspoon,” Austin Pendleton for “Orson’s Shadow” and Michael John LaChiusa for “See What I Wanna See.”

Other awards will go to composer Harvey Schmidt (for body of work and contribution to musical theater), late playwright August Wilson (for lifetime achievement) and composer Robert Waldman (for distinguished work in the theater).

Event features a program helmed by Kathleen Marshall (“The Pajama Game”), including performances from Broadway shows, a tribute to Wendy Wasserstein by Meryl Streep and Mamie Gummer and a scene from Wilson’s “Fences” performed by original cast members James Earl Jones and Courtney B. Vance. John Guare emcees.