Acad sets Nicholl finalists

Up to five noms may go on to receive $30,000 fellowship

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences has announced 10 finalists for the 21st annual Don & Gee Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting.

As many as five may go on to receive one of the $30,000 fellowships, which the recipients are expected to use to complete a feature-length screenplay during the fellowship year.

The finalists were selected from 4,899 submissions.

This year’s finalists are “Abilene,” Michael Raymond; “Armored,” James V. Simpson; “Beatrice Creek,” Eric J. Litra; “The Free Republic of Bobistan,” Arthur M. Jolly; “Mr. Burnout,” Eric T. Gravning; “Palau Rain,” Stephanie Lord; “Peepers,” Clark E. Morrow; “10 Day Contract,” Josh D. Schorr; “38 Mercury,” Alfred E. Carpenter and Mark A. Matusof; and “Tides of Summer,” Scott K. Simonsen.