Oscar race counts 61 countries

Record number of foreign-language entries this year

See Submissions

A record 61 countries are vying for this year’s Academy Award for foreign-language film, including first-time contender Kazakhstan with its entry “Nomad.”

In addition to pics from the countries that always submit films (China, France, Hong Kong, Italy, Mexico, Spain) are entries from predominantly English-speaking nations (Australia, Canada), as well as Iraq and Iran.

Foreign-language committee chair Mark Johnson is trying to persuade director Aki Kaurismaki to reverse his decision and allow Finland’s submission, “Lights in the Dusk,” to remain in competition.

Luxembourg’s entry “Your Name is Justine” failed to qualify. The Academy determined the film to be ineligible, claiming the majority of the cast/crew are not from Luxembourg.

Nominations for the 79th Academy Awards will be announced Jan. 23.

And the submissions are…

Algeria, “Days of Glory,” Rachid Bouchareb, director;
Argentina, “Family Law,” Daniel Burman
Australia, “Ten Canoes,” Rolf de Heer
Austria, “You Bet Your Life,” Antonin Svoboda
Bangladesh, “Forever Flows,” Abu Sayeed
Belgium, “Someone Else’s Happiness,” Fien Troch
Bolivia, “American Visa,” Juan Carlos Valdivia
Bosnia and Herzegovina, “Grbavica,” Jasmila Zbanic
Brazil, “Cinema, Aspirins and Vultures,” Marcelo Gomes
Bulgaria, “Monkeys in Winter,” Milena Andonova
Canada, “Water,” Deepa Mehta
Chile, “En la Cama,” Matiaz Bize
China, “Curse of the Golden Flower,” Zhang Yimou
Colombia, “A Ton of Luck,” Rodrigo Triana
Croatia, “Libertas,” Veljko Bulajic
Cuba, “El Benny,” Jorge Luis Sanchez
Czech Republic, “Lunacy,” Jan Svankmajer
Denmark, “After the Wedding,” Susanne Bier
Egypt, “The Yacoubian Building,” Marwan Hamed
France, “Avenue Montaigne,” Daniele Thompson
Germany, “The Lives of Others,” Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck
Greece, “Chariton’s Choir,” Grigoris Karantinakis
Hong Kong, “The Banquet,” Feng Xiaogang
Hungary, “White Palms,” Szabolcs Hajdu
Iceland, “Children,” Ragnar Bragason
India, “Rang De Basanti,” Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra
Indonesia, “Love for Share,” Nia Dinata
Iran, “Transit Cafe,” Kambozia Partovi
Iraq, “Dreams,” Mohamed Al-Daradji
Israel, “Sweet Mud,” Dror Shaul
Italy, “Golden Door,” Emanuele Crialese
Japan, “Hula Girls,” Sang-il Lee
Kazakhstan, “Nomad,” Sergei Bodrov, Talgat Temenov, Ivan Passer, directors;
Korea, “King and the Clown,” Lee Jun-ik
Kyrgyzstan, “The Wedding Chest,” Nurbek Egen
Lebanon, “Bosta,” Philippe Aractingi
Lithuania, “Before Flying Back to Earth,” Arunas Matelis
Macedonia, “Kontakt,” Sergei Stanojkovski
Mexico, “Pan’s Labyrinth,” Guillermo del Toro
Morocco, “The Moroccan Symphony,” Kamal Kamal
Nepal, “Basain,” Subash Prasad Gajurel
The Netherlands, “Black Book,” Paul Verhoeven
Norway, “Reprise,” Joachim Trier
Peru, “Madeinusa,” Claudia Llosa
Philippines, “The Blossoming of Maximo Oliveros,” Auraeus Solito
Poland, “Retrieval,” Slawomir Fabicki
Portugal, “Alice,” Marco Martins
Puerto Rico, “Thieves and Liars,” Ricardo Mendez Matta
Romania, “The Way I Spent the End of the World,” Catalin Mitulescu
Russia, “9th Company,” Fyodor Bondarchuk
Serbia, “Tomorrow Morning,” Oleg Novkovic
Slovenia, “Gravehopping,” Jan Cvitkovic
Spain, “Volver,” Pedro Almodovar
Sweden, “Falkenberg Farewell,” Jesper Ganslandt
Switzerland, “Vitus,” Fredi M. Murer
Taiwan, “Blue Cha Cha,” Cheng Wen-tang
Thailand, “Ahimsa Stop to Run,” Leo Kittikorn
Turkey, “Ice Cream, I Scream,” Yuksel Aksu
Ukraine, “Aurora,” Oxana Bayrak
Venezuela, “Maroa,” Solveig Hoogesteijn
Vietnam, “Story of Pao,” Ngo Quang Hai