You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

NBC, Fox top PGA TV nominations

'Arrested,' 'Office,' 'Earl' among comedy contenders

See Nominees

NBC and Fox have topped the TV nominations for Producers Guild of America awards with four each, followed by three each for ABC, CBS and HBO.

The PGA has shortened its nominating period for this year’s awards from Sept. 1 to May 31 because the org will change next year to go along with the TV season. It’s also split off the TV nominations announcement from the feature film nods in order to give more prominence to the smallscreen contenders.

Because the PGA eligibility period ended before the current season started, no new shows were eligible for this year’s kudos. Still, the guild favored few new skeins in its tally: “My Name Is Earl” and “Weeds” are the only frosh skeins nominated.

The PGA’s drama series nods for the Norman Felton Award went to ABC’s “Grey’s Anatomy” and “Lost,” Fox’s “House” and “24,” and HBO’s “The Sopranos.” “Lost” won the PGA award this year and “24” won the Emmy; “The Sopranos” took the 2005 PGA kudo.

Noms in comedy series for the Danny Thomas Award went to Fox’s “Arrested Development,” HBO’s “Curb Your Enthusiasm,” NBC’s “My Name Is Earl” and “The Office,” and Showtime’s “Weeds.”

HBO’s “Entourage,” which won the award this year, wasn’t eligible for the noms because its season didn’t start until summer. “The Office” won the comedy series Emmy this year and “Curb” won the PGA award in 2005.

PGA actually announced “Curb” as a nominee last year, but then retracted the nom when it realized the skein didn’t air any episodes in the eligibility period (Daily Variety, Jan. 12). It was replaced on the nom list by “Scrubs.”

Nom for “Arrested” reps what will likely be the show’s last bid for kudos glory. Skein was canceled last spring.

In the PGA’s variety category, the org nominated Telepictures’ “The Ellen DeGeneres Show,” NBC’s “Late Night With Conan O’Brien” and “The XX Olympic Games: Opening Ceremony,” CBS’ “Late Show With David Letterman” and HBO’s “Real Time With Bill Maher.” The “DeGeneres Show” has won the PGA kudo for the past two years; Comedy Central’s “The Daily Show With Jon Stewart” won the Emmy this year.

The PGA’s non-fiction nods went to CBS’ “The Amazing Race 9” and “60 Minutes,” Fox’s “American Idol,” ABC’s “Dancing With the Stars,” Bravo’s “Project Runway.” The PGA gave this year’s award to “60 Minutes”; “The Amazing Race” won the Emmy.

Guild, which announced the small-screen nominations in four categories Monday, will present the kudos Jan. 20 at its awards show at the Century Plaza.

The PGA held off on announcing noms for the longform category due to credit arbitrations. Those will be announced Jan. 4 along with the feature nods.

The PGA’s nominations are handled like the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences with producers in a particular category eligible to vote for that category. All 3,100 PGA members will be able to vote for the winners.

And the nominees are…

Danny Thomas Award in Episodic TV – comedy:
Arrested Development (Fox) – Ron Howard & Brian Grazer, David Nevins, Mitchell Hurwitz, John Amodeo, Dean Lorey, Jim Vallely, Richard Day, Tom Saunders.
Curb Your Enthusiasm (HBO) – Lary David, Jeff Garlin, Robert B. Weide, Larry Charles, Tim Gibbons, Erin O’Malley
My Name Is Earl (NBC) – Greeg Garcia, Marc Buckland, Henry Lange Jr.
The Office (NBC) – Greg Daniels, Kent Zbornak
Weeds (Showtime) – Jenji Coahn, Roberto Benabib, Mark Burley

Norman Felton Award in Episodic TV – drama:
Grey’s Anatomy (ABC) – Shonda Rhimes, Betsy Beers, Mark Gordon, James Parriott, Peter Horton, Rob Corn
House (Fox) – David Shore, Katie Jacobs
Lost (ABC) – J.J. Abrams, Damon Lindelof, Carlton Cruise, Bryan Burk, Jack Bender, Jean Higgins, Eward Kitsis & Adam Horowitz, Elizabeth Sarnoff
The Sopranos (HBO) – David Chase, Brad Grey, Ilene S. Landress, Terence Winter, Matthew Weinde, Diane Frolov & Andrew Schneider, Henry Bronctein, Martin Bruestle, Gianna Smart
24 (Fox) – Joel Surnow, Robert Cochran, Howard Gordan, Evan Katz, Jon Cassar, Michael Loceff, Michael Klick

Award in Variety TV
The Ellen DeGeneres Show (Warner Bros. TV) – Ellen DeGeneres, Mary Connelly, Ed Glavin, Andy Lassner, Karen Kilgariff
Late Night with Conan O’Brien (NBC) – Lorne Michaels, Jeff Ross, Tracy King, Frank Smiley, Daniel Ferguson
The Late Show with David Letterman (CBS) – Maria Pope, Barbara Gaines, Rob Burnett, Jude Brennan
Real Time with Bill Maher (HB) – Bill Maher, Scott Carter, Sheila Griffiths, Dean Johnsen
The XX Olympic Games: Opening Ceremony (NBC) – Dick Ebersol, David Neal, Molly Solomon

Award in Non-Fiction TV
The Amazing Race 9 (CBS) – Jerry Bruckheimer, Bertram van Munster, Jonathan Littman, Amy Chacon, Hayma “Screech” Washington, Evan Weinstein, Elise Doganieri, Mark Vertullo
American Idol (Fox) – To be determined
Dancing with the Stars (ABC) – To be determined
Project Runway (Bravo) – To be determined
60 Minutes (CBS) – Jeff Fager

More Film

  • Krysanne Katsoolis Sets Up Viewpark With

    Krysanne Katsoolis Sets Up Viewpark With $200 Million Fund

    Veteran film industry executive Krysanne Katsoolis has launched Viewpark, which will finance, package and release high-end film and TV content. Viewpark has partnered with former Wall Street executive Keith Price’s Obsidian Asset Management to create a multi-million dollar fund for the production and marketing of its slate, Katsoolis told Variety. Obsidian, based in London and [...]

  • Elle FanningChopard Trophee dinner, 72nd Cannes

    Elle Fanning Faints at Cannes Dinner Party

    Elle Fanning, a member of this year’s Cannes jury, had a brief scare Monday night when she fainted at the Chopard Trophee dinner. Festival director Thierry Fremaux had just introduced actor Francois Civil onstage when Fanning, star of “The Beguiled” and “Maleficent,” collapsed and fell off her chair nearby. Fanning was sitting at a table [...]

  • 'Frankie' Review: Ira Sachs' American Version

    Cannes Film Review: 'Frankie'

    As a filmmaker, Ira Sachs, the director of “Love Is Strange,” “Little Men,” and (his masterpiece) “Keep the Lights On,” is like a flower that keeps sprouting new tendrils, growing ever more beautiful and complicated and delicate. His new movie, “Frankie,” may the closest that anyone has come to making an American version of an [...]

  • AMC theater

    AMC Stubs A-List Becomes No. 1 Movie Subscription Service

    AMC Theatres’ Stubs A-List program, which allows customers to see three movies a week for $19.95 a month, has hit 800,000 subscribers. That figure is well ahead of the original projection, announced last June, for 500,000 subscribers by the end of its first year. According to AMC, the program is now the No. 1 moviegoing [...]

  • Millie Bobby Brown on Her Feature

    Millie Bobby Brown Calls Her Film Debut in 'Godzilla' 'Kind of Unreal'

    Millie Bobby Brown is no stranger to stardom thanks to “Stranger Things,” but she still can’t believe she’s making her feature film debut in the monster reboot “Godzilla: King of the Monsters.” “It’s kind of unreal,” Brown told Variety at the premiere. “I’m like, ‘What is happening right now?’ It’s so bizarre and unreal, and [...]

  • Dakota Johnson Tracee Ellis Ross

    Dakota Johnson, Tracee Ellis Ross Co-Starring in Comedy 'Covers'

    Dakota Johnson and Tracee Ellis Ross will co-star in “Covers,” a comedy set in the music scene in Hollywood. “Late Night” director Nisha Ganatra is helming from a screenplay by Flora Greeson. Focus Features is partnering with Working Title Films on the movie. Working Title’s Tim Bevan and Eric Fellner will produce with Alexandra Loewy [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content