You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

National Board of Review names ‘Iwo Jima’ best film

First prize of awards season goes to Eastwood epic

The kudos season kicked off Wednesday with a nod to Clint Eastwood and Warners as the helmer’s Japanese-language “Letters From Iwo Jima” took the National Board of Review’s prize for best picture.

NBR is a group made up of film educators and other professionals with no official ties to the biz. While its workings are not well known in Hollywood, an NBR nod can help set the tone for the awards season and top 10 lists that follow.

Martin Scorsese nabbed the director prize for his mob Warner Bros. drama “The Departed.”

Searchlight’s “Last King of Scotland” brought home the actor prize for Forest Whitaker, who portrays dictator Idi Amin. Helen Mirren scored the actress nod for her role as a conflicted Queen Elizabeth II in Miramax’s “The Queen.”

Pedro Almodovar’s female-centric “Volver” won the prize for foreign film. Al Gore’s environmental warning “An Inconvenient Truth” won for docu while Pixar’s “Cars” nabbed the prize for animated feature.

It was a red-letter day for Warners, which in addition to Scorsese’s nod made the top 10 list with “The Departed” and “Blood Diamond.” And Warner Independent grabbed a spot on the list with “The Painted Veil.” “Flags of Our Fathers” is a co-production between Par and Warners.

Fox Searchlight also turned in a stellar perf, landing three films in the top 10: “The History Boys,” “Little Miss Sunshine” and “Notes on a Scandal,” while Fox 2000’s “Devil Wears Prada” also rated a spot.

All told, Fox and Warner Bros. units scored eight out of the 10 spots; Par Vantage’s “Babel” and Par’s “Flags of Our Fathers” were the only films that didn’t come from one of the two companies.

Djimon Hounsou of “Blood Diamond” and Catherine O’Hara from “For Your Consideration” were the winners in the supporting acting categories.

Warners recently changed course with “Letters,” announcing recently that it would move up the release from early 2007 to December to prep for an awards run.

It was a smooth year for the National Board of Review after a problem-riddled 2005 in which former members accused the group of acting in an exclusionary manner. Group was also caught in an embarrassing situation in which it had to postpone its awards announcements because it had sent out incomplete eligibility forms.

Other named winners this year include Ryan Gosling for breakthrough perf by an actor and Jennifer Hudson and Rinko Kikuchi sharing the nod for breakthrough actress.

Zach Helm won for original screenplay with “Stranger Than Fiction” and Ron Nyswaner for adapted with his “The Painted Veil.” Jason Reitman won for best directorial debut for “Thank You for Smoking.”

Other announced short lists include, in foreign, “Curse of the Golden Flower,” “Days of Glory,” “Pan’s Labyrinth” and “Water”; and in docu, “51 Birch Street,” “Iraq in Fragments,” “Shut Up and Sing” and “Wordplay.”

Group also listed top indie films. They were “Akeelah and the Bee,” “Bobby,” “Catch a Fire,” “Copying Beethoven,” “A Guide to Recognizing Your Saints,” “Half Nelson,” “The Illusionist,” “Lonesome Jim,” “Sherrybaby,” “10 Items or Less” and “Thank You for Smoking.”

The National Board of Review will also hand out a number of career awards at its Gotham ceremony on January 9. They include the Career Achievement Award to Eli Wallach; the Billy Wilder Award For Excellence in Directing to Jonathan Demme; the William K. Everson Award For Film History to Donald Krim; the Career Achievement in Producing award to Irwin Winkler; and the Bvlgari Award for NBR Freedom of Expression to “Water” and “World Trade Center.”

More Film


    PMK-BNC Executive Joy Fehily Resigns, Will Consult and Manage Seth MacFarlane (EXCLUSIVE)

    Top Hollywood publicist and executive Joy Fehily has resigned from her post at public relations firm PMK-BNC, individuals familiar with the move told Variety. Fehily steps down in the midst of a five-year deal with the show business institution, insiders said, which reps A-list actors and below-the-line talent as well as huge brands like American [...]

  • Donald Trump Chucky Childs Play

    'Child's Play' Stars on New Chucky's 'Creepy' Resemblance to Donald Trump

    At Wednesday night’s world premiere of the “Child’s Play” remake, it was obvious that evil doll Chucky — the star of seven films over three decades — had a little work done. And now he bears a striking resemblance to Donald Trump. “Oh, you caught that?” Aubrey Plaza asked Variety on the black carpet outside [...]

  • Academy Museum of Motion Pictures Opening

    Academy Museum Opening Delayed Again to 2020

    The opening date of the Academy Museum of Motion Pictures has been delayed again, this time to an unspecified date in 2020. The museum, now under construction at the corner of Wilshire Boulevard and Fairfax Avenue, has long been beset by delays and cost overruns. In December 2018, the Academy announced that it would open [...]

  • Bradley Cooper speaks at the 30th

    Producers Guild Shifts 2020 Awards Show to Hollywood Palladium

    The Producers Guild of America will hold its 31st Annual Producers Guild Awards at the Hollywood Palladium, shifting the site from the Beverly Hilton Hotel. The PGA had already announced that the show would take place on Jan. 18. The organization, which represents more than 8,000 producers, announced Thursday that it has launched a new [...]

  • Adam Driver appears in The Report

    Amazon’s ‘The Report’ Gets U.K. Theatrical Release Ahead of Streaming Launch

    Amazon Studio’s “The Report” will be released theatrically in the U.K. three weeks before it lands on the Prime Video streaming service. The Scott Z. Burns film tells the story of Daniel J. Jones, a U.S. Senate staffer who worked to reveal that truth about an “enhanced interrogation” program run by the CIA in the [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content