You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Juried Emmys revealed

Prizes presented at Creative Arts Awards on Aug. 19

The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences has announced the Emmy winners in three juried award categories. Juried awards, which have no nominations, will be presented at the Creative Arts Awards on Aug. 19. Juried Emmys may be awarded to one, several or no winners.

Voice-Over Performance

Kelsey Grammer — “The Simpsons” (The Italian Bob), Gracie Films in association with 20th Century Fox Television (Fox)

Costumes for a Variety or Music Program

“MADtv” (Episode #1109), Girl Group Co. Wendy Benbrook, costume designer; Wanda Leavey, costume supervisor (Fox)

“Benise: Nights of Fire!” McGhee Entertainment Prods. Erin Lareau, costume designer (PBS)

“Dancing with the Stars” (Episode 208A), BBC Worldwide Prods. Dana Campbell, Randall Christensen, costume designers (ABC)

Individual Achievement in Animation

“Classical Baby 2 (The Hippo Dance), HBO Original Programming. Jarek Szyszko, animator (HBO)

“Robot Chicken” (Easter Basket), ShadowMachine Films. Sarah E. Meyer, animator (Cartoon Network)

“The Life and Times of Juniper Lee” (Adventures in Babysitting), Cartoon Network Studios. Frederick Gardner, background key designer (Cartoon Network)

“Escape From Cluster Prime” Nickelodeon Studios. Bryan Arnett, character designer (Nickelodeon)

“Foster’s Home for Imaginary Friends” (Go Goo Go), Cartoon Network Studios. Shannon Tindle, character designer (Cartoon Network)

“The Grim Adventures of Billy & Mandy” Cartoon Network Studios. Mike Diederich, storyboard artist (Cartoon Network)

More Film

  • (L to R) VIGGO MORTENSEN and

    'Green Book' Lands Post-Oscars Theatrical Release in China

    Fresh off Monday’s news that it had picked up five Academy Award nominations, best picture favorite “Green Book” is set for more good luck. The film will hit Chinese theaters on March 1, the first weekend after the Oscars, which fall on Feb 24, Alibaba Pictures announced on its official social media account. The film [...]

  • Fan Bingbing

    Chinese Celebrities Pay $1.7 Billion in Back Taxes Following Fan Bingbing Scandal

    Chinese film and TV stars have paid some $1.7 billion (RMB11.7 billion) of additional taxes, following the mid-2018 scandal surrounding actress Fan Bingbing. The figure was announced Tuesday by China’s State Tax Administration. Chinese authorities launched a probe into the taxation affairs of the entertainment sector in October. Companies and individuals were asked to examine [...]

  • Yalitza Aparicio as Cleo, Marco Graf

    Film News Roundup: AMC, Regal to Leave 'Roma' Out of Best Picture Showcases

    In today’s film news roundup, “Roma” will not be in the best picture showcases at AMC and Regal, “Jimi Hendrix: Electric Church” gets a release and SAG-AFTRA’s David White has a new appointment. ‘ROMA’ SPURNED AMC Theatres and Regal Cinemas are leaving Alfonso Cuaron’s “Roma” out of their upcoming annual showings of the contenders for [...]

  • First Look at SAG Awards' Cuban

    First Look at SAG Awards' Cuban-Inspired After-Party (EXCLUSIVE)

    Celebrities at this year’s SAG Awards won’t have to go far for some tropical fun. Sunday’s annual post-show gala, hosted by People magazine for the 23rd year, is set to feature a Cuban-themed party space adjacent to the Shrine Auditorium. “We’re kind of going back to more of a thematic element. I have some close [...]

  • Paul DavidsonVariety Big Data Summit Presented

    Listen: The Orchard's Paul Davidson on Surviving Sundance Bidding Wars

    Hollywood heads to Park City, Utah this week in the hopes of finding the next big Sundance Film Festival breakout. Paul Davidson, executive vice president of film and television at The Orchard, plans to be in the thick of it. In today’s edition of Variety‘s “Strictly Business” podcast, Davidson opens up about The Orchard’s strategy [...]

  • Young Tony Soprano in 'Sopranos' Movie:

    James Gandolfini's Son Michael Gandolfini Cast as Tony Soprano in 'Sopranos' Movie

    Michael Gandolfini, son of the late James Gandolfini, will play the young Tony Soprano in “The Many Saints of Newark,” the  prequel movie to the television series “The Sopranos.” “It’s a profound honor to continue my dad’s legacy while stepping into the shoes of a young Tony Soprano,” Gandolfini said. “I’m thrilled that I am [...]

  • Bradley Cooper A Star Is Born

    The Message of the Oscar Nominations: You'd Better Have a Social Message

    Each year at the Left Coast crack of dawn, when the Oscar nominations are announced, there’s generally at least one major nomination many pundits were predicting that fails to materialize. When that happens, entertainment media tends to rise up as one and say the s-word: snub. In truth, it’s not usually a snub; it’s just [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content