‘Crash,’ ‘Line’ get Eddies

American Cinema Editors honor year's best

“Crash” and “Walk the Line” took home top honors at Sunday’s 56th annual ACE Eddie Awards.

The American Cinema Editors honored “Crash” editor Hughes Winborne with the Eddie for top dramatic feature, and “Walk the Line” editor Michael McCusker took the award for comedy or musical.

Just over 1,000 people attended the fete at the Beverly Hilton hosted by Cheryl Hines.

Songwriter Kathleen “Bird” York performed the Crash” song “In the Deep.” She’ll do the same at the Academy Awards.

“Crash” beat fellow Oscar best pic contenders “Brokeback Mountain,” “Munich” and “Good Night, and Good Luck,” in addition to “The Constant Gardener.” “Walk the Line” beat “Wedding Crashers,” “The Family Stone,” “Pride & Prejudice” and “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.”

Ron Howard won the Golden Eddie as filmmaker of the year. Longtime collaborator Brian Grazer presented him with the award. Ed Abroms and Terry Rawlings both collected lifetime achievement nods.

In the documentary category, Sabine Emiliani won for “March of the Penguins.” Michael Ornstein took commercial TV miniseries or feature kudos for “Four Minutes.” Brian A. Kates won for “Lackawanna Blues” in the noncommercial miniseries category.

Stephen Semel won for “Lost” in the one-hour series for commercial television category, and Stephen Mark won for “Deadwood” in the noncommercial category. Stuart Bass won for “Arrested Development” in the half-hour TV category.

An Eddie for student editing went to Joo Wan “Jin” Lee from the American Film Institute.