You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

2006 IDA award winners, finalists


ABC News Videosource Award
Jonestown: The Life and Death of
Peoples Temple (Stanley Nelson)

Pare Lorentz Award
An Inconvenient Truth (Davis Guggenheim, Laurie David, Lawrence Bender, Scott Z. Burns)

Limited Series Award
Off to War (Brent Renaud, Craig Renaud)

Continuing Series Award
American Experience (Mark Samels, Sharon Grimberg)

David L. Wolper Student Documentary Achievement Award
Reporter Zero (Carrie Lozano, U. of California at Berkeley)

Jacqueline Donnet Emerging Documentary Filmmaker Award
Christopher Quinn

Courage Under Fire Award
Andrew Berends

Career Achievement Award
Haskell Wexler

Preservation & Scholarship Award
Patricia Aufderheide


Can Mr. Smith Get to Washington Anymore?
(Frank Popper, Matt Coen, Mike Kime)
Deliver Us From Evil
(Amy Berg, Frank Donner)
Iraq in Fragments
(James Longley)
Showbusiness: A Season to Remember
(Dori Berinstein)
Sierra Leone’s Refugee All Stars
(Zach Niles, Banker White)

Angel’s Fire
(Marcelo Bukin)
The Blood of Yingzhou District
(Ruby Yang, Thomas Lennon)
The Diary of Immaculee
(Peter Le Donne, Steve Kalafer)
A Short History of Sweet Potato Pie & How It Became a Flying Saucer
(Nina Gilden Seavey)
The Wild Sheep, the Fox and Love
(Anne Magnussen)

More Film

  • Sam Mendes

    Sam Mendes' World War I Drama '1917' Set for Awards-Season Launch on Christmas 2019

    Universal Pictures has given an awards-season release date of Dec. 25, 2019, to Sam Mendes’ World War I drama “1971.” Steven Spielberg’s Amblin Partners is producing “1917” through its DreamWorks Pictures brand. “1917” will open in limited release on Christmas Day then go wide two weeks later on Jan. 10, 2020. Mendes wrote the script [...]

  • Ventana Sur Queer Latin Film Panel

    Ventana Sur: Panel Talks Merits, Setbacks in Latin Queer Cinema

    BUENOS AIRES — Four venerable professionals from the cinema world joined on Monday evening for Queer Cinema In Latin America, a frank discussion on Latin America’s role within the queer filmscape for Ventana Sur’s Industry conference series held at the UCA campus in Buenos Aires. Touching on advancements in character arc and notable achievements in [...]

  • Jennifer Lopez

    Jennifer Lopez 'Absolutely' Wants to Direct Film and Television

    Jennifer Lopez epitomizes the phrase “she’s done it all” — but there’s still more that the superstar would like to do. Lopez recently directed her first music video, “Limitless,” the track featured on her new rom-com “Second Act,” and it seems the multi-hyphenate has caught the directing bug. “Absolutely, absolutely,” Lopez responded when asked by [...]

  • Daniel Craig

    Rian Johnson's Murder Mystery 'Knives Out,' Starring Daniel Craig, Set for Thanksgiving Release

    Lionsgate has bought distribution rights to Daniel Craig’s murder mystery “Knives Out” and set a Thanksgiving release date of Nov. 27. MRC financed “Knives Out,” directed by Rian Johnson — best known for “Star Wars: The Last Jedi.” Lionsgate will also distribute the pic worldwide. The movie came together during the Toronto International Film Festival [...]

  • The favourite Movie

    Olivia Colman to Be Honored by Palm Springs Festival for 'The Favourite'

    “The Favourite” star Olivia Colman will receive the Desert Palm Achievement Award by the Palm Springs International Film Festival. The award will be presented by her co-star Emma Stone at the festival’s awards gala on Jan. 3 at the Palm Springs Convention Center. The festival, now in its 30th year, runs from Jan. 3 to [...]

  • Oscars Oscar Academy Awards Placeholder

    Motion Pictures Academy Announces Scientific and Technical Awards

    The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has announced nine scientific and technical achievements, represented by 27 individual recipients, to be honored at the annual Scientific and Technical Awards Presentation Feb. 9 at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel in Beverly Hills, Calif. In addition, Curtis Clark will be receiving the John A. Bonner Award for his service [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content