Veteran union activist Ron Morgan has been elected president of AFTRA’s Los Angeles Local over Sumi Haru and will begin his two-year term on July 1.

Morgan, who’s chaired several national negotiating committees, is the current AFTRA national veep and a longtime member of both AFTRA L.A.’s local board and the union’s national board. He succeeds Marvin Kaplan, who chose not to seek re-election.

Morgan, who headed the AFTRA Team Leadership slate, said in the campaign that he’d push for organizing in Spanish-language broadcasting and cable TV, work to reverse runaway production and form stronger alliances with sister unions. He was an active proponent of the proposed SAG-AFTRA merger in 2003.

Other L.A. Local results announced Tuesday: Susan Boyd Joyce, first VP; Lori Alan, second VP; Bobbie Bates, third VP; Jason George, fourth VP; Dan Navarro, recording secretary; and Jay Gerber, treasurer. Bates, George, Haru and Morgan were re-elected to three-year terms on the L.A. Local Board along with Ivy Bethune, Patrika Darbo, Paul Petersen, Ann E. Walker and Linda Harmon while Jon Joyce was re-elected to a two-year term.

Newly elected local board members include William Schallert, Sean Valentine and Christy Crowl.

National Board members from Los Angeles re-elected to three-year terms include George, Haru and Peterson along with David Horowitz and Jacque Lynn Colton.