Emmy has chat with ‘Ellen’

ABC tops daytime awards with 5

See winners

NEW YORK — “The Ellen DeGeneres Show” repeated as top daytime talkshow at the Daytime Emmy awards, while DeGeneres herself took home her first award as top host.

“Oh, man, I love my job,” she said at the event, presented at Radio City Music Hall on Friday night. “It’s basically just sitting there and listening to people talking. It’s like a bartender.”

On the sudser front, ABC’s “General Hospital” won a record-setting eighth Emmy as top drama at the kudocast; lead actress honors — for a record sixth time — went to Erika Slezak, who plays Victoria Davidson on ABC’s “One Life to Live”; and lead actor went to Christian Jules LeBlanc, Michael Baldwin on CBS’ “The Young and the Restless.”

On a night when the National Television Academy honored daytime legend Merv Griffin with its lifetime achievement award, one of the shows he created, “Jeopardy,” took its 10th Emmy for gameshow in a season marked by Ken Jennings’ 74-game winning streak.

Kudos, which aired on CBS from 9-11 p.m., has suffered declining ratings over the past several years. NBC was shut out of the Emmy competition, but two of its shows — the second hour of “Dateline” and a rebroadcast of “Law & Order: Trial by Jury” — swamped the Emmycast Friday night in the ratings.

The ceremony featured a tribute to William Bell, who died last month from complications of Alzheimer’s. Writer-producer Bell created “The Bold and the Beautiful” and “The Young and the Restless,” daytime’s top-rated show for the last 15 years. Before that he wrote for other soaps including “Guiding Light,” “As the World Turns” and “Days of Our Lives.”

ABC led the networks with five Emmys for “General Hospital,” “One Life to Live” and “All My Children.” CBS came in second with four for “The Young and the Restless” and “As the World Turns.”

The most honored shows were ABC’s “General Hospital” and CBS’ “The Young and the Restless,” with three Emmys apiece. The syndicated “Ellen DeGeneres Show” took two.

PBS drew two Emmys, one for Henry Winkler as performer in an animated program for “Clifford’s Puppy Days,” and one for Kevin Clash, who voices Elmo on “Sesame Street.”

Among cablers, Food Network won two when a pair of its celebrity chefs, Bobby Flay and Michael Chiarello, tied for the Emmy for service show hosts.

Showtime took an Emmy for Stockard Channing’s performance as Anne in “Jack,” a children’s special.

And the winners are…

Outstanding Drama Series Directing Team
“General Hospital,”
ABC; Joseph Behar, Grant Johnson, William Ludel, Scott McKinsey, Owen Renfroe, Christine Magarian, Penny Pengra, Peter Fillmore, Ronald C. Cates, Dave McLeod, Kathy Ladd, Craig McManus

Outstanding Lead Actress in a Drama Series
Erika Slezak, “One Life to Live,” ABC

Outstanding Lead Actor in a Drama Series
Christian Jules LeBlanc,
“The Young and the Restless,” CBS

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Drama Series
Natalia Livingstone,
“General Hospital,” ABC

Outstanding Supporting Actor In A Drama Series
Greg Rikaart,
“The Young and the Restless,” CBS

Outstanding Younger Actress In A Drama Series
Eden Riegel, “
All My Children,” ABC

Outstanding Younger Actor In A Drama Series
David Lago,
“The Young and the Restless,” CBS

Outstanding Performer In A Children’s Series
Kevin Clash (as Elmo)
, “Sesame Street,” PBS

Outstanding Performer In A Children/Youth/Family Special
Stockard Channing
, “Jack,” Showtime

Outstanding Performer In An Animated Program
Henry Winkler,
“Clifford’s Puppy Days,” PBS

Outstanding Game Show Host
Meredith Vieira,
“Who Wants to be a Millionaire” (Syn)

Outstanding Talk Show Host
Ellen DeGeneres,
“The Ellen DeGeneres Show” (Syn)

Outstanding Service Show Host
Bobby Flay,
“Boy Meets Grill,” Food Network
Michael Chiarello, “Easy Entertaining with Michael Chiarello,” Food Network

Outstanding Drama Series
“General Hospital,”
ABC; Jill Farren Phelps, Mary O’Leary, Carol Scott, Mercer Barrows, Michelle Henry, Deborah A. Genovese, Charles Pratt, Jr., Robert Guza, Jr.

Outstanding Game/Audience Participation Show
SNY; Harry Friedman, Lisa Finneran, Rocky Schmidt, Gary Johnson

Outstanding Talk Show
“The Ellen DeGeneres Show,”
SYN; Ellen DeGeneres, Mary Connelly, Ed Glavin, Andy Lassner, Derek Westervelt, Jason Gabel, Melissa Geiger Schrift, Jonathan Norman, Karen Kilgarifff, Lori Blackman, Bradford Brillowski, Mellissa Costello, Karen Anderson, Danny Breen, Greg Fitzsimmons, Margaret Smith, Alison Balian, Sue Murphy, Lawrence Williams, Hedda Muskat

Outstanding Drama Series Writing Team
“As the World Turns,”
CBS; Hogan Sheffer, Jean Passanante, Christopher Whitesell, Charlotte Gibson, Paula Cwikly, Frederick Johnson, Carolyn Culliton, Courtney Simon, Judith Donato, Lynn Martin, Judy Tate, Susan Dansby, Meg Kelly, Elizabeth Page, Melissa Salmons, Craig Heller