You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

‘Lost’ musicals find way to Hayes kudos

Tuners of Loesser, Hammerstein honored in D.C.

This article was updated at 7:03 p.m.

WASHINGTON — Two daring productions of “lost” musicals — Frank Loesser’s “Senor Discretion Himself” and a reworking of the 1947 Rodgers & Hammerstein show “Allegro” — were honored Monday during the 21st annual Helen Hayes Awards, D.C.’s salute to excellence in area professional theater.

Judges declared a tie in the resident musical category between two of the season’s highest-profile shows, Arena Stage’s production of Loesser’s previously unproduced “Discretion,” a lengthy project undertaken by the writer’s widow, Jo Sullivan Loesser, and Signature Theater’s massively scaled-back version of “Allegro,” a project pursued by Dena Hammerstein, widow of Oscar Hammerstein II’s son, James.

Other key winners included Craig Wright’s “Melissa Arctic,” an inventive adaptation of Shakespeare’s “The Winter’s Tale” produced by the Folger Theater. It won the Charles MacArthur Award for new play or musical, besting Wright’s own “Grace” at Woolly Mammoth Theater Company and “Senor Discretion,” among others.

The season’s top resident play was the Shakespeare Theater’s production of “Cyrano,” a new adaptation of the Edmond Rostand play that also drew director honors for Michael Kahn and lead actor recognition for Geraint Wyn Davies, a late replacement for Stacey Keach. The play’s set designer, James Noone, was honored in a tie with James Kronzer, designer of Round House Theater’s “Diary of Anne Frank.”

“Cyrano” topped the Shakespeare Theater’s production of “Pericles,” Woolly’s outrageous “Lenny & Lou” by Ian Cohen and the Kennedy Center’s production of “Cat on a Hot Tin Roof,” part of its Tennessee Williams retrospective.

It was a good evening for Signature Theater, which snared five awards, including one for a.d. Eric Schaeffer’s direction of “Allegro” and another for Gregg Barnes’ costume design for the musical. Signature’s production of new John LaChiusa tuner “The Highest Yellow” won for lead musical actor (Jason Danieley) and direction (Jon Kalbfleisch).

Schaeffer praised the Hayes judges’ recognition of riskier new works, which also included a musical nomination for Signature’s “One Red Flower,” based on letters home from Vietnam. But he noted that several quality plays, such as Arena’s production of Williams’ “Orpheus Descending,” were overlooked.

Among performers, Gin Hammond drew the resident play actress nod for the Studio Theater’s powerful “The Syringa Tree,” while Bernardine Mitchell took top resident musical actress for the MetroStage production of “Mahalia, a Gospel Musical.”

Supporting performer awards in resident plays went to Holly Twyford for the Folger Theater’s “Two Gentlemen of Verona” and David Toney for the African Continuum Theater Company’s “Two Trains Running” by August Wilson. Resident musical supporters were David James (“Godspell” at Toby’s Dinner Theater) and Ann Duquesnay (Arena’s “Hallelujah, Baby!”).

The nod for top nonresident production went to “The Producers” at the Kennedy Center, and Lee Roy Reams took supporting actor for that show. “Movin’ Out” at the National Theater drew lead actor kudos for both Ron Todorowski and Holly Cruikshank. Todorowski topped a sensitive performance by James Earl Jones in the Kennedy Center’s “On Golden Pond.”

Walking home empty-handed was D.C.’s tiny Theater Alliance, which received 10 nominations, including for production, Stephen Massicotte’s “Mary’s Wedding.”

Other highlights included a tribute to composer Jerry Herman, who was on hand to both accept and entertain. Local arts supporter Sidney Harman received the KPMG Award for Distinguished Service, and Studio Theater a.d. Joy Zinoman received the Washington Post Award for Innovative Leadership, savoring the occasion with some directorial suggestions concerning the Post’s arts coverage.

Emcee E. Faye Butler kept the proceedings light and fast-paced, while writer Norman Allen had several humorous surprises for D.C.’s close-knit theater community.

More Legit

  • Hamilton West End Production.

    'Hamilton' Panic Over Mistaken Reports of Gunfire Injures Three in San Francisco

    Three people were injured after mistaken reports of an active shooter at a San Francisco production of “Hamilton” caused attendees to flee the theater. CNN reported that a woman experienced a medical emergency — later determined to be a heart attack — during a scene in Lin-Manuel Miranda’s play wherein Founding Father Alexander Hamilton is shot on [...]

  • The American Clock review

    London Theater Review: 'The American Clock'

    Time is money. Money is time. Both come unstuck in “The American Clock.” Arthur Miller’s kaleidoscopic account of the Great Depression, part autobiography, part social history, crawls through the decade after the Wall Street crash, dishing up snapshots of daily life. In the Old Vic’s classy revival, director Rachel Chavkin (“Hadestown”) tunes into the play’s [...]

  • Jake Gyllenhaal

    Off Broadway Review: Jake Gyllenhaal in 'Sea Wall/A Life'

    Comfy? Okay, let’s talk Death: sudden death, painful death, lingering death, accidental death, and whatever other kinds of death happen to come into the receptive minds of playwrights Simon Stephens (“Sea Wall”) and Nick Payne (“A Life”). The writing in these separate monologues — playing together on a double bill at the Public Theater — [...]

  • Michael Jackson Estate Cancels Musical Test-Run

    Michael Jackson Estate Cancels Musical Test-Run

    With an HBO documentary that places strong allegations of abuse against Michael Jackson premiering in two weeks, the late singer’s estate announced Thursday that it’s canceling a scheduled Chicago test run of a jukebox musical about him. The estate and its producing partner in the musical, Columbia Live Stage, said that they’re setting their sights on going [...]

  • All About Eve review

    West End Review: Gillian Anderson and Lily James in 'All About Eve'

    To adapt a crass old adage: it’s “All About Eve,” not “All About Steve.” Stripping Joseph L. Mankiewicz’s sharp-witted screenplay about a waning theater star of its period trappings, Ivo van Hove’s stage adaptation fine-tunes its feminism for our own sexist age — image-obsessed, anti-aging, the time of Time’s Up. Rather than blaming Lily James’ [...]

  • Adam Shankman

    Listen: Why Adam Shankman Directs Every Movie Like It's a Musical

    Director Adam Shankman’s latest movie, the Taraji P. Henson comedy “What Men Want,” isn’t a musical. But as one of Hollywood’s top director-choreographers of musicals and musical sequences, he approaches even non-musicals with a sense of tempo. Listen to this week’s podcast below: “When I read a script, it processes in my head like a [...]

  • Matthew Bourne's 'Cinderella' Review

    L.A. Theater Review: Matthew Bourne's 'Cinderella'

    How much can you change “Cinderella” before it is no longer “Cinderella”? In the case of choreography maestro Matthew Bourne — who, it should be said, first unveiled his spin on the classic folk tale some 22 years ago — the music is most certainly “Cinderella” (Prokofiev’s 1945 score, to be exact), but the plot [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content