The Outer Critics Circle has bestowed the first awards of the legit prize season, giving four trophies apiece to “Doubt” and “Monty Python’s Spamalot.”

The OCC, comprised of reviewers for out-of-town publications, honors both Broadway and Off Broadway productions. Awards will be presented in a ceremony May 26 at Sardi’s.

John Patrick Shanley’s Pulitzer Prize-winning “Doubt” garnered the laurels for Broadway play, and also took trophies for director Doug Hughes and stars Brian F. O’Byrne and Cherry Jones.

“Spamalot,” the Broadway musical winner, also scored for director Mike Nichols, featured actress (musical) Sara Ramirez and costume designer Tim Hatley.

Legit split

The voting for Off Broadway play produced a tie between Neil LaBute’s “Fat Pig” and Lee Blessing’s “Going to St. Ives.”

“Altar Boyz” took the trophy for Off Broadway musical.

Revival winners were “Twelve Angry Men” and “La Cage aux Folles.” The latter also won for Jerry Mitchell’s choreography.

Other performance awards went to Norbert Leo Butz, actor in a musical for “Dirty Rotten Scoundrels”; Victoria Clark, actress in a musical for “The Light in the Piazza”; Jeff Goldblum, featured actor in a play for “The Pillowman”; Amy Ryan, featured actress in a play for “A Streetcar Named Desire”; and Dan Fogler, featured actor in a musical for “The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee.”

Billy Crystal took the solo performance award for “700 Sundays.”

Set design trophy went to Anthony Ward for Brit import “Chitty Chitty Bang Bang,” while Christopher Akerlind won the lighting design award for “The Light in the Piazza.”

The John Gassner Award, presented to an American play, went to Ron Hutchinson for “Moonlight and Magnolias.”