You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Composers score kudos

ASCAP honors Debney with Henry Mancini Award

ASCAP handed out its 20th annual film and television awards Wednesday night at the Beverly Hilton to composers with scores in the top films and TV shows.

Film score composers honored were Marco Beltrami (“I, Robot”), John Debney (“The Passion of the Christ,” “The Princess Diaries 2: Royal Engagement”), Michael Giacchino (“The Incredibles”), Jeff Gibbs (“Fahrenheit 9/11”), James Horner (“Troy”), James Newton Howard (“Collateral,” “The Village”), Gregor Narholz (“The SpongeBob SquarePants Movie”), Randy Newman (“Meet the Fockers”), Antonio Pinto (additional music for “Collateral”), John Powell (“The Bourne Supremacy”), Alan Silvestri (“The Polar Express,” “Van Helsing”) and Hans Zimmer (“Shark Tale”).

Debney was also honored with the ASCAP Henry Mancini Award for his work on more than 50 films.

Trophied for themes and underscores in the highest-rated series in 2004 were J.J. Abrams and Michael Giacchino (“Lost”); Lee Aronsohn and Grant Geissman (“Two and a Half Men”); Jake Black, Simon Edwards, Piers Marsh and Robert Spragg (“The Sopranos”); Jeff Cardoni (“CSI: Miami”); Catherine Dennis, Julian Gingell and Barry Stone (“American Idol”); Reinhold Heil and Johnny Klimek (“Without a Trace”); James Newton Howard (“ER”); Russ Landau (“Survivor: All-Stars,” “Survivor: Vanuatu”); Michael Levine (“Cold Case”); Rick Marotta (“Everybody Loves Raymond”); Randy Newman (“Monk”); Atli Orvarsson (“Law and Order,” “Law & Order: SVU”); Michael Skloff (“Friends”); and David Vanacore (“The Apprentice”).

Most performed themes awards went to Frank Catanzaro, Dan Foliart, Branford Marsalis, Howard Shore and Michael Skloff.

Most performed underscore awards went to Jack Allocco, Catanzaro, David Kurtz, Russ Landau, Mark Snow and David Vanacore.

The Golden Note Award was presented to Snow for his success over the past 20 years. The evening also celebrated the centennial of legendary songwriter-composer Harold Arlen.

More Film

  • Studiocanal has sold Jean-Paul Gaultier's "Freak

    Jean-Paul Gaultier's 'Freak And Chic' Documentary Sells For Studiocanal (EXCLUSIVE)

    Underscoring the strength and scope of French fashion designer Jean Paul Gaultier’s legacy around the world, the documentary “Jean Paul Gaultier Freak And Chic,” which chronicles the making of Gaultier’s ongoing popular show in Paris, has been luring distributors in key markets. Sold by Studiocanal and produced by Capa, the documentary has already been picked [...]

  • Korea Box Office: 'MAL·MO·E' and 'Inside

    Korea Box Office: 'MAL·MO·E' and 'Inside Me' Remain on Top

    There was no change at the top of the Korean box office, as local titles “MAL·MO·E: The Secret Mission” and “Inside Me (a.k.a. The Dude in Me)” dominated a second weekend. Lotte’s “MAL·MO·E” earned $4.79 million from 618,000 admissions between Friday and Sunday for a total of $16.7 million from 2.23 million admissions after two [...]


    China Box Office: ‘Bumblebee’ Flies on to $138 Million Total

    “Bumblebee” flew to its third weekend of dominance in China. But the Chinese box office remains in lackluster mode at the start of 2019. The spinoff from Paramount’s “Transformers” franchise earned $16.1 million in Chinese theaters between Friday and Sunday, according to date from exhibition and distribution consultancy Artisan Gateway. That was a 38% drop [...]

  • Mara Watkins Nabhaan Rizwan Steven Wouterlood

    Diverse Talents Pepper Variety's Fifth 10 Europeans to Watch List

    Variety has unveiled its fifth edition of 10 Europeans to Watch, spotlighting 10 rising talents from across the continent who are poised for breakthroughs in 2019. The selection includes emerging actors, directors, showrunners and cinematographers from six countries whose dynamic talents are being showcased on screens big and small, and on both sides of the camera. [...]

  • Glass Movie

    Box Office: 'Glass' Shines Overseas With $48.5 Million Weekend

    After autobots and aquatic kings have dominated foreign markets over the past few weeks, a different kind of hero has risen to the top of box office charts. M. Night Shyamalan’s “Glass” is the new champ overseas, pulling in $48.5 million from international territories. The supernatural thriller, a sequel to 2000’s “Unbreakable” and 2016’s “Split,” debuted [...]

  • Yalitza Aparicio as Cleo, Marco Graf

    'Roma' and 'The Favourite' Lead London Critics' Circle Winners

    After ruling the U.S. critics’ award circuit, “Roma” continued its dominance on the other side of the pond, as the London Film Critics’ Circle announced its winners tonight. A week after landing seven BAFTA nominations, Alfonso Cuarón’s Mexico City memory piece landed film of the year and director of the year honors from the group [...]

  • M. Night Shyamalan Should Stop Writing

    The Big Twist M. Night Shyamalan Needs: He Should Stop Writing His Own Scripts (Column)

    Quick, name the greatest film by each of the following directors: Alfred Hitchcock, Steven Spielberg, David Lean, Robert Altman, Roman Polanski, Kathryn Bigelow, Jonathan Demme. Answers will vary (mine would be: “Psycho,” “Saving Private Ryan,” “Lawrence of Arabia,” “Nashville,” “Chinatown,” “The Hurt Locker,” “The Silence of the Lambs”), but whatever your taste, odds are that [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content