Miami festival unveils juries

Event will have section dedicated to Ibero-American pix

MIAMI — The 22nd Miami Film Festival, to be held Feb. 4-13, has announced its jury panels.

Producer Ted Hope, author Russell Banks and actor Rosie Perez are the jurors for the dramatic feature world cinema competition, in which 13 pics will be screened.

A Fipresci jury will judge the same set of films for a separate prize. That panel will feature Brazilian journalist Ricardo Cota; Barbara Lorey de Lacharriere, a Paris-based writer and freelance journalist specializing in cultural reporting and film criticism; and New York-based film critic and journalist Howard Feinstein.

The Miami fest has a competitive section dedicated to Ibero-American cinema, limited to frosh and soph filmmakers. Writer, director and producer Bob Rafelson; director and producer Sara Driver; and Jose Maria Prado, who heads Spain’s film library and is a member of the stewardship committee of the San Sebastian Film Festival, comprise the jury for that section, which will screen 13 pics this year.

Popular on Variety

Fest will also unspool 15 feature-length docus in competition; documentarians Robert Byrd (“Short Stories”), Deborah Dickson (“The Education of Gore Vidal”) and Bob Smeaton (“Festival Express”) make up the jury.