You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

WGA serves up 1st doc kudo to ‘Super’

Helmer Spurlock feted by Guild

The Writers Guild of America has presented Morgan Spurlock its first feature documentary award for “Super Size Me,” the story of his quest to eat nothing but McDonald’s food for a month.

Spurlock, who was presented with the kudo at ceremonies Tuesday at the Hollywood Roosevelt, topped Ross McElwee (“Bright Leaves”), Julia Bacha and Jehane Noujaim (“Control Room”), Paolo di Florio (“Home of the Brave”), Harry Thomason and Nickolas Perry (“The Hunting of the President”) and Jessica Yu (“In the Realms of the Unreal”).

Spurlock, who financed the $65,000 film himself, was inspired after a Thanksgiving dinner to make the film thanks to a lawsuit filed against McDonald’s by two overweight children. Spurlock gained nearly 30 pounds and three weeks into the all-McDonald’s diet, the doctors monitoring his progress urged him to stop.

Spurlock promised that as part of the project he would “super size” any order if asked by a clerk. In March, after “Super Size Me” won a directing prize at the Sundance Film Festival, McDonald’s announced it was eliminating the super-size option while claiming its decision was unrelated to Spurlock’s film.

“Super Size” is by far the best box office performer of the six WGA nominees, grossing $11.5 million for Roadside Attractions and Samuel Goldwyn Films, followed by “Control Room” with $2.6 million. “Super Size” is also the only guild nominee to have scored an Oscar mention, joining “Born Into Brothels,” “The Story of the Weeping Camel,” “Tupac: Resurrection” and “Twist of Faith.”

The WGA noms, selected from more than a dozen entries, did not include Michael Moore’s “Fahrenheit 9/11” as Moore chose not to submit his docu. The doc-writing category did not require the producer be a guild signatory; instead, the credited writers were required to join the nonfiction writers caucus at the WGA West or the WGA East.

The WGA announced creation of the docu nod in November while at the same time excluding nonfiction works from its original screenplay award, which eliminated Moore’s chances of taking home a second WGA trophy for original screenplay. He won the guild’s original screenplay award for 2002’s “Bowling for Columbine.”

More Film

  • El silencio de otros

    Film Review: 'The Silence of Others'

    “Forgiven but not forgotten” is a platitude we routinely use to end disputes both petty and grievous, but it’s the reverse outcome — the mass forgetting of crimes and conflicts never truly resolved — that itches away at a post-Franco Spain in “The Silence of Others.” Soberly chronicling the ongoing legal battle of General Franco’s [...]

  • A Womans Work-The NFLs Cheerleader Problem

    Tribeca Documentaries Explore Gender Issues in Sport

    Up until recently, what it meant to be a professional female athlete in a world dominated by men wasn’t an issue that garnered high volumes of public interest, let alone national headlines. But that all changed in October 2017 when stories from the New York Times and the New Yorker detailing sexual allegations and improper [...]

  • Lizzo Coachella Valley Music and Arts

    Lizzo Joins Cardi B and Jennifer Lopez in Stripper Film 'Hustlers'

    After the release of her third album and a pair of high-profile Coachella performances, Lizzo announced today that she will be joining Cardi B and Jennifer Lopez in the stripper-themed film “Hustlers.” Based on a true story, the film focuses on strippers who band together to turn the tables on their wealthy Wall Street male [...]

  • Ralph Fiennes attends a special screening

    Ralph Fiennes on Directing Rudolf Nureyev Biopic: 'It's Been a Very, Very Long Road'

    Ralph Fiennes celebrated his latest directorial outing, “The White Crow,” on Monday night in New York City. The Sony Pictures Classics film tells the story of legendary dancer Rudolf Nureyev. “It’s been a very, very long road. We were mad. We were mad to take on this subject of Rudolf Nureyev. Mad. Completely mad,” Fiennes [...]

  • Marc Malkin The Big Ticket Podcast

    Variety, iHeartMedia Launch New Film Podcast 'The Big Ticket' With Marc Malkin

    Variety and iHeartMedia have announced the premiere of “The Big Ticket,” a new weekly film-focused podcast hosted by Marc Malkin, the magazine’s senior film awards and events & lifestyle editor. The podcast will feature sit-down interviews with Hollywood’s hottest stars and filmmakers talking movies, the business and more. New episodes will be released every Thursday [...]

  • 2019 Box Office Placeholder

    Can 'Avengers: Endgame,' 'Lion King' and Other Summer Movies Rescue the Box Office?

    In the summer, as temperatures rise and schools go on break, Hollywood likes to stick to a well-worn formula: Pack the multiplexes with franchises, spinoffs, reboots and remakes. This coming season will be no different — with hopes that the pay off at the box office will help reverse the current turndown in ticket sales. [...]

  • Cameron Crowe, David Crosby in Park

    Cameron Crowe on Putting 'the Most Colorful Life Ever,' David Crosby's, on Screen

    Cameron Crowe jokes that David Crosby is following his career path. The star’s frankness and tell-it-like-it-is demeanor has resulted in Rolling Stone magazine’s invitation to set up the Rock and Roll Hall of Famer’s next act as a rock Dear Abby of sorts with his new column: “Ask Croz.” “Isn’t that great?” says Crowe, the Oscar-winning [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content