Guild’s glamour stays off-air

Co-chairs move ceremony to honor picket lines

The Producers Guild of America, which gives out its kudos Jan. 22, this year will be honoring strikers — but not with an award.

New co-chairs Stacey Sher and Lauren Shuler-Donner and producer Scott Morrow have moved the ceremony from its previous location, the Century Plaza Hotel, to Culver Studios so as not to cross a hotel workers’ picket line.

“We’re the first major guild to support the hotel workers,” explains Sher. “And the opportunity to present the David O. Selznick Lifetime Achievement Award where Selznick actually made films is a thrill for all of us.”

Another benefit is that the cocktail reception will be held on the lot’s New York Street. “The evening gives you the span of the guild from New York to L.A.,” says Sher. “With the New York branch of the PGA growing, it made sense thematically.”

Popular on Variety

Another addition will be host Wayne Brady. “What’s exciting about having him is that he’s so multitalented,” says Sher. “Plus he’s going to have his band with him.” There will be plenty of star power joining Brady, as Zach Braff, Ashton Kutcher, Will Smith and Clint Eastwood will be presenters.

While some elements are changing, others will stay the same. “We hope to continue the great spirit of that insiders club atmosphere,” Sher explains.

To that end, the PGA has opted against making a deal to televise the awards. “It was more important to focus on the job of producing instead of adding extraneous awards for TV Q,” Sher says.